You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bury Me In A $70,000 Hole

in #life6 years ago

Hear this from a boy who dedicated his life to reading and studying , from a guy who took his books really seriously , from a guy who always topped his class and from a guy who graduated with the best cgpa in his department...

school is a scam my brother...

I say this boldly because I really can't figure out what I learnt in school that I wouldn't learn on my own right now. After 5 years in the university as an electrical engineering student, I graduated with the best result but couldn't wire my own house. Basic things I should know in the practical world as an electrical engineer, I had no idea about and I really felt so stupid when I graduated. Had to pay extra fees to learn that from people who had been practicing . Now tell me...was the fees I paid in school a waste and was the time I spent in lecture rooms a waste? Imagine if I had spent 5 years of my life learning a skill or two?

Those who end up inventing things are people who had time to focus on what they have passion for. But school takes that time from us and gives us the illusion if a better life after graduation. Now I have graduated and cant even get a decent job. Still struggling to survive simply because those who get the jobs are people who know people . It's a messed up world and all we can hope is for things to become better with time.

Sort:  

Man thanks for understanding. You always share amazing thoughts. I agree it's a BIG scam. Especially in the U.S. It's nothing more than big business and it's a way for them to profit off of us.

That's why Steemit is so important because not only can you learn so many things but you can also get paid at the same time. It takes hard work for sure but it's an alternative to the current education system.

I hate to hear your struggle. That's why it hurts even more because so many people pour their lives in to education only to get out and can't make a living. It's a shame.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66785.43
ETH 3494.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83