Is Internet Addiction Real? This Is How Too Much Internet Use Affects Us!

in #life7 years ago (edited)


Most Steemians are quite heavy Internet Users, right?

We spend several hours a day in front of screens, connecting with others on social media, googling, playing games, shopping online, watching videos and more.
So we all like to use the Internet - but did you know that you can actually be addicted to the Internet?

Studies have shown that internet usage may actually cause physiological changes and users might experience withdrawal symptoms!





Internet withdrawal: similar symptoms to drug withdrawal?

Swansea and Milan Universities have conducted two different studies regarding this topic, the first one in 2013.
60 participants in their twenties were given psychological tests to determine addiction levels, mood, depression and anxiety.
Afterwards, they were granted access to the internet for 15 minutes and were then re-tested.
This study showed that heavy internet users experienced negative moods and tended to be more depressed when not using the internet, symptoms similar to drug users who experience withdrawal.
A control group of non-internet addicts showed no difference in mood levels before and after using the internet!

"Although we do not know exactly what internet addiction is, our results show that around half of the young people we studied spend so much time on the net that it has negative consequences for the rest of their lives. When these people come off-line, they suffer increased negative mood - just like people coming off illegal drugs like ecstasy. These initial results, and related studies of brain function, suggest that there are some nasty surprises lurking on the net for people's wellbeing. These results corroborate previous reports regarding the psychological characteristics and traits of internet users, but go beyond those findings to show the immediate effect of the Internet on the mood of those who are addicted."

-Prof. Phil Reed, Swansea University


Increased heart rate and anxiety

In Swansea University's second study from 2016 about this topic, they tested participants between 18 and 33.
The subjects' vital signs were measured before and after internet use, and the results have shown that internet withdrawal increased heart rate and blood pressure by 4%, sometimes even double that figure. The symptoms ended immediately when the participants were allowed to use the internet again.
Anxiety levels were also rising for those who use the internet heavily - others didn't show any negative withdrawal symptoms.

"We have known for some time that people who are over-dependent on digital devices report feelings of anxiety when they are stopped from using them, but now we can see that these psychological effects are accompanied by actual physiological changes."

-Prof. Phil Reed, Swansea University



Although these symptoms are not life-threatening, it seems like internet addiction has actually become a real, physical condition.

The symptoms that heavy internet users experienced can be associated with anxiety, and with changes to the hormonal system which could reduce immune responses.
Researchers also concluded that withdrawing the internet from heavy users puts them in a similar state like withdrawal seen for many "sedative" drugs such as alcohol, or heroin.

"Whether problematic internet use turns out to be an addiction - involving physiological and psychological withdrawal effects - or whether compulsions are involved that do not necessitate such withdrawal effects - is yet to be seen, but these results seem to show that, for some people, it is likely to be an addiction."

-Prof. Roberto Truzoli, Milan University


Internet addiction could make you ill ?!

Like mentioned above, the anxiety experienced from internet withdrawal could even make changes to our immune system - making heavy internet addicts more prone to diseases.
In a study featuring 500 participants aged 18 to 101 , those with internet addiction showed 30% more cold and flu symptoms than those with less dramatic internet usage.
Internet addicts may suffer from great stress when being withdrawn from the internet, and this cycle of stress and relief may
lead to increased levels of cortisol - a hormone that influences our immune function.

Apart from that, heavy internet addicts are also more likely to drink more alcohol, smoke more, and suffer from sleep deprivation.

"We found that the impact of the internet on people's health was independent of a range of other factors, like depression, sleep deprivation, and loneliness, which are associated with high levels of internet use and also with poor health. It may also be that those who spend a long time alone on the internet experience reduced immune function as a result of simply not having enough contact with others and their germs."

-Prof. Phil Reed, Swansea University


Watch this video from Swansea University about their internet addiction study:


How many hours a day do you use the internet? Would you say you're dependant on it or could you stop easily?




Images: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, Sources: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5



Want to get featured on my blog? Register for Steemit Promo

- Instagram -

- Steemit FB Group - 


© Sirwinchester


Sort:  

This is indeed very frightening @sirwinchester. Whether we accept it or not everyone who spends more than 8 hours a day on the web is addicted. This is the sad truth. The answer to which will only come when we try and stay away from the internet for long periods of time. Also I feel rather than saying that we are addicted to internet, we can actually pinpoint a few things specifically for e.g for some internet might just be Facebook or youtube or any other site. Right now I am addicted to STEEM :)

Yes, "Internet" is not a very specific term. Although I did read that most internet use is indeed social media (and news).
But Steemit doesn't count in this case! Steemit is a positive addiction 😉

Heheh yea Steemit is a positive addiction..no doubt :)

Excellent work dear friend @sirwinchester. I tell you my experience I live from what I generate on the internet for such reason I am all day to generate my daily income, I do not use another social network other than steemit, I spend 17 hours a day, publishing, commenting and sharing My companions, the symptoms that I feel the most anxiety, I have become impassive and I want everything now, I do not suffer from abstinence, or lack of sleep, when I get to bed I watch 5 minutes television and I fall asleep in a single shot.
Excellent material as everything you present.
I wish you a beautiful day

Wow, I didn't know you were hat commited to Steemit - that's awesome! Hats off to you!

And great to hear that you don't experience any negative "side effects", especially falling asleep at night can be quite difficult if you spent the whole day in front of a screen but seems like you don't have a problem with that. That's very good.
Steemit really is addictive, so no one here blames you for spending that much time on Steemit 😬

When you feel comfortable and part of a place the hours do not weigh, steemit gave me the opportunity to live my work, with what I generate here I maintain my family and that is a lot, especially in the difficult times that we live.
I send you a big hug that you had a great day

OMG ... 17 hours a day, that's quite a lot... good thing you're focused on steemit... I spend too much time doing nothing on the Internet!

I am passionate about this platform and interaction with people, which I believe is the success of this platform, being able to talk to nice people from all over the world that is exciting. Pass by your blog you have some very interesting works.
I wish you a beautiful weekend dear friend @ladyrebecca

Thank you very much. I'm still new to this platform and trying to find my way around.

I have been really active in steemit lately and in consequnces i have been really tired to work these day. But i guess as a person, we still need to plan our time about when we should do what even steemit is so addictive, we still need a healthy life.

You're right, even when spending several hours a day on the internet you should always try to balance it out by going outside or exercising!

I think we've gone past addiction now that we simply can't live without it, it has become a vital part of our daily life.

If I look at some of the young teenagers nowadays, they really can't function without it. They google everything, use the GPS, are in constant contact with everyone, always updating their Snapchat or Instagram, etc.

All symptoms checked. XD

All of that is valid in my opinion. I already spent a good amount of time on the internet/in front of screen for work and hobby, steemit has taken to addiction level. First thing I do when I wake up is jump on steemit and it also is what keep me up past bedtime. Need to dial it back!

Yeah, absolutely!

I like to think that Steemit is a healthy addiction! 😉
But yes, sometimes it can be nice to cut back on Internet browsing time and go for a walk or work out.

Ofcourse its real! I found myself getting addicted and I had to put my phone down for a couple weeks and do other stuffs like reading a book or watch TV. Trust me, it helps :)

Interesting, I'm sure it felt unusual for you at first but you got used to it!

Great info, might start to only spend 20 hours a day on steemit. Cutting back will be a good thing. Been seeing double for days now! Must steem, must steem

Hahaha, once you've reached the point of seeing double you should probably cut back, yes!
Make sure to balance it out by getting some fresh air or exercising!

I only clicked on this story because the thumbnail looked like two naked women. I'm moderately disappointed, but I will get over it.

my age is 30 and its my job be online upto 15 hours a day, at least 10 hours a day is my job and else is personal :p
and agree with problems like mood, depression and anxiety as well as i got angry really fast but i will try to control all this stuff in future...
thank you for sharing this @sirwinchester

Yes, part of my job is also to spend time on the internet but it's all good if you balance it out with fresh air and exercise!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64268.35
ETH 3499.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51