What is Type A and Type B personality theory?

in #life6 years ago

Nobel Prize winner Edith Wharton once said, “There are two ways of spreading light: to be the candle or the mirror that reflects it.”

This is an amazingly accurate description of the difference between Type A and Type B personalities. Type A personalities are the candles—and they’re usually burning at both ends. Type B personalities, on the other hand, put out every bit as much light; they just don’t get as much recognition for it.

Type Bs don’t have all of that sparkle and sizzle that attract everyone’s attention. Since Type Bs aren’t as in your face about their contributions, they have a tendency to get mislabeled as lazy or indifferent.

That bias goes all the way back to the origin of the Type A/Type B personality paradigm, in the waiting room of a couple of cardiologists. The doctors noticed that their chairs didn’t have wear on the backs as expected; it was only visible on the front edge of the seats and the armrests, which suggested that patients were literally waiting on the edge of their seats, ready to jump up the second their names were called.

main-qimg-3986898010c73de65697659fc43e5fab-c.jpg

So, the cardiologists—Doctors Friedman and Rosenman—then wanted to find out if impatient people were more prone to heart disease. They discovered that their hunch was correct, and they labeled these impatient individuals “Type A.” “Type B” was simply a label they assigned to anyone who wasn’t Type A.

It’s as if Type Bs lack the distinguishing characteristics that drive them to be successful. Type Bs, however, know that this couldn’t be further from the truth. The very traits that people assume are the products of laziness or indifference are distinct personality characteristics that help Type Bs to achieve and prosper.

Unlike Type As, Type Bs don’t feel like they have to be perfect, which means they are OK with recognizing and admitting their weaknesses. This acknowledgment equips them to shore up those weaknesses. Type Bs are also easier to get along with, as they tend to be supportive rather than rushing, pushing, and criticizing others.

Type Bs don’t jump to conclusions. Since they’re not in a constant rush, they take the time to analyze all the facts instead of hurrying their analysis just to reach a decision. Type Bs also won’t keep beating a dead horse. Whereas Type As can become obsessed with making their chosen strategy work, Type Bs easily switch gears when it becomes obvious something isn’t working.

Sort:  

Interesting post. I think I'm more of a type B person myself but to be honest, I see I have traits from both personalities. I feel the need to get the work done perfectly and in rare cases I rush the things (this applies to things I really like, like hobby) - obviously type A. But then, on the other hand, I usually really don't feel like I want to do it. I'm just lazy. I also plan in advance to avoid unpleasant surprises and easily give up when I'm overwhelmed - type B. I suppose that people aren't 'just A' or 'just B' but one of them must be dominating.

Exactly my though. You cannot be just A or B its always a combination of traits from both the personality types.

I am def a type B. I recognize a lot! My business partner is def a type A. And again that makes us a good mix! Thanks for sharing :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63041.44
ETH 2985.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61