Walking on the Ponte Vecchio (Florence)

in #life6 years ago

As  I wrote many times, I live in a small town close to Florence (Italy) and sometimes we go there by train (just 40 minutes by train) to run errands or just for fun. This morning my hubby had to go there to give some documents to the office for the cultural properties, located at the end of the Boboli's garden, in the beautiful Pitti Palace.

I always like to take a lot of pictures when we are there, because Florence is really a wonderful city when everyone can "breath" the art on every corner.

Today I want to share with you some pics I took of the Ponte Vecchio (the Old Brifge) that is very loved by every turist when they are  in Florence.

Usually there are to many persons on this bridge, but this morning it was quiet enough to take some pics ^_^

There are a lot of jewelry little shops on this bridge and so everything looks so billiant. 

The"Old bridge" is not simply "old", but really "ancient", because the first document where we can read about it it's dated  996, more then 1000 years ago!

It was destroyed around the 1100 and again in the 1300, but fortunately it was reconstructed soon.

In the center of the bridge, under a loggia, there is a small stone when we can read about an italian sentence that say in the 1333 the bridge dropped down cause a rain storm and after 10 years the bridge was reconstructed thanks the municipality.

On the other side of the loggia, there is a statue of Benvenuto Cellini.

I hope you liked this sort of virtual tour on the Old Bridge!

Stay tuned to see other corners of Florence. ^_^

See ya soon

Silvia




silvia beneforti
Sort:  

We visited Florence in October 2017. Loved it. Managed to not buy jewellery on the Ponte Vecchio, but did buy a game in a fabulous shop near the cathedral!

I know that fabulous shop near the cathedral, there are a lot of things there that I'd like to buy 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

AAA! It brought me back to 1996 when I visited Italy including Florence. Although there were many reconstructions in Florence.
And look what I have found! Had to scan as there were no digital cameras at that time

enter image description here

Is it this bridge? Right? Steemit is an amazing place! and amazing people are here!

Yes, that is the Ponte Vecchio!!!! I have to come back in Florence the next week, if there will be few people on the bridge, I'd like to take a video, so you can see it again! After the 1996 nothing is changed there, the same little shops full of jewelry :D

Funny story, I used to play this game called Assassin's Creed 2 which was also based majorly in Florence and since then, I haven't stopped obsessing over Italy and everything about it.

Would love to visit there someday :)

True!!! Also me and my hubby played Assassin's Creed 2 and we had a lot of fun watching Florence there :D

Playing video games with your spouse? That's #couplegoals right there haha!

With these beautiful photos every day I have more desire to know Italy

Ah, I have to visit Florence again some day. My last visit was too brief!

Firenze is really full of interesting things to see, but just a tips: don't visit Florence during the Summer or during the Christmas time, because there are too much people around and it's almost impossible to visit the museums or the famous buildings/square ^_^

Yes, it's the same in Vienna.

What a magical place ! Florence seems like it breathes art from every corner and every street <3 This bridge is very famous and one day I would like to visit it <3 Until then, thank you for sharing such beautiful photos :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68168.17
ETH 3256.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67