Some thoughts about the word "freedom"

in #life7 years ago

Yes, all of us hope in a world full of freedom, but I think everyone of us have a different idea to the meaning of the word "freedom" and how we can exercise this right.

For the Oxford Dictionary the definitions are:

1.  The power or right to act, speak, or think as one wants. 

2.  The state of not being imprisoned or enslaved. 

3.  (freedom from) The state of not being subject to or affected by (something undesirable) 

4.  (the freedom of British A special privilege or right of access, especially that of full citizenship of a city granted to a public figure as an honour. 

5.  (archaic) Familiarity or openness in speech or behaviour. 


So, we are all informed about the meaning, but I need to take a moment and think about the meaning at the point 1.

My father teached me that, before to exercise my right to speack or act as I want, I have to take a moment, I have to count from 1 to 10 and after I can do it. Why? Simply because every our act (or word) can get a reaction. We are always ready to get a reaction that I don't like? I think not. 

Truth and consequence. 

Honestly, every time I feel the need to say or write or publish something (something different from my awesome painting or pets ^_^)  I ask my self if my own "free to speech" can hurts someone and if I really want to hurt someone. In the most of the time I don't want to hurt anyone and so I search a "decent compromise" that make me feel free to express my opinion without hurting some people. Do you think this is not a "real" freedom? I can say this is my choice, so, it's my freedom. ^_^

See ya soon

Silvia



silvia beneforti

Sort:  

Really god contents from you! Thanks to the first of that your post now I know a new word to: Tenability.
@mammasitta , we are both in the same thoughts! Sometimes I ask myself about it and some different thoughts are in my mind, because my own experiences in life, the history of the country where I was born and I live, the news that I read or listen day by day. At the end, I think I can give to the word "freedom" some different meaning for different situations, but my freedom have to stop when exercising my right I know that I'm hurting ( phisically or mentally) the freedom of other peoples. This is just respect and my choice is to exercise freedom+respect both together (when it's possible) ;)

Grazie bella ! I am getting some food and sorry that I dont reply more detailed to your very valid thoughts I share with you. La Liberta is worth to fight for :)

There are many different kinds of freedom, but for me the important one we usually talk about is the concept of political freedoms, such as "freedom of speech", "freedom of association" etc.

Some people say that as long as the government doesn't prohibit you from doing these things, you are politically free. However I think it requires more than that.

For example, imagine a person with a large family. That family is pretty much their entire social world. Every relationship in their life is closely tied to the family. Now imagine the government allows this person to drive a car, but the family does not. They won't send this person to jail, but they will stop talking to them, stop supporting them, completely ostracize them. Would you say that this person is free to drive? I don't think they are free in a practical sense.

In order to have a real political freedom, it must be respected not just by the government, but by society in general. I think "you are free to do X, but I am free to punish you for it" means that X is not a real freedom that you have. And "Freedom of speech, not freedom from consequences" is a similar oxymoron.

I agree, @demotruk ! This is what I would say writing this post ;)
At the end, in the real political freedom, I have the choice between to be free to "do X and accept the consequence" or "don't do X and don't have consequence". All of us (included myself) use the word "freedom" in the political context to ask the right to be free to do X without the fear to be punished, but if we honestly think about freedom we're asking something similar to oxymoron: "freedom for everyone, except for who want to punish me". It's a perverse circle and I think it can be break only respecting each others (writing this, I'm feeling a bit Utopian)

Mac's Rule #82: No matter how careful you are, something you say, write or do will hurt someone's feelings.
#83: No one has a right not to be offended.

Thank you for your thoughts. I think that true freedom is hidden in love and service to one another!

Dear @silviabeneforti.

Thank you for posting....appreciate the opportunity to think on these things.

After thinking on this word and that something seemed to be lacking with regard to these definitions....bleujay consulted Webster's dictionary hoping to find an elaboration of some kind in order to capture the essence of the word 'freedom'.
Many times if we will go to the synonyms and antonyms...we can find some assistance.

For 'freedom'....syn. liberty, license mean as compared to the definition......the power or condition of acting without compulsion.
antonym......slavery (the surrender of one's volition), imprisonment, restraint.

The principle that comes to mind......

Freedom demands responsibility. The greater the freedom, the greater the responsibility.

An individual must have integrity in order to have capacity for freedom.

After studying....conclusion....the definition certainly describes freedom....the abuse of it is the conundrum...perhaps what is lacking is self-governance. The use of one's own volition to restrain self so that someone else does not have to.

Enjoyed giving the concept of freedom a serious look today.

Wishing you and yours all the best. Ciao.

Really a good though and an excellent analize, @bleujay ! I totally agree with you !

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Apr 06. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $0.22 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 06 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60938.00
ETH 2386.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57