My lazy thyroid ^_^

in #life5 years ago

Today I want to talk to you about my thyroid, because in my family (like many people in the area where I live) the women have a lazy thyroid. I call it "lazy", but the name of the desorder is Hypothyroidism.

At first my grand-mother, after my mother and,  from 8 years, also myself. Hipothyroidism  (the thyroid glands doesn't produce enough the thyroid hormone) cause some symptoms like depression and a feeling of tiredness, sometimes it cause also a weight gain, but not in my case. 

Since the first diagnosis, I use the pills of levothyroxine to treat the desorder (taking care to use the salt iodization in my diet), but in the last months I had the symptoms again and so I decided to get the blood test. This morning I had the result and yes, my thyroid is lazy again ^_^

Doesn't matter, it's my fault! My doctor said to me I have to get the blood test every 2 years and the last time I did it was more than 5 years ago. I showed the blood test to my doctor and he told me I have to adjust the dose of the levothyroxine and it's not a problem. Sure, if I got that blood test (the TSH) some months before, my mood was more quiet . My fault.

One of the common cause of this kind of desorder is too little iodine in the diet and here in Italy, since the 2005, we have a law about the dietary iodine in the school to prevent the thyroid desorders.

Well, tomorrow I'll start the new dose of levothyroxine and I'm pretty sure my depression moments and my tiredness will be just a memory! ^_^

See ya soon

Silvia


silvia beneforti
Sort:  

I think you should check your vitamin D level also.I read that vitamin D deficiency can cause such problems.A friend of mine had problem similar like you and after doing vitamin D test level,he found out that his vitamin D level was only below 40,and normal range is 75-250..I hope my answer can help!

Thanks for the info, I'll check it 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

I too have that illness since pretty much after giving birth to my son. Seaweed and salmon are excellent natural sources of iodine. Sushi? 😉

Posted using Partiko iOS

I like so much sushi ^^ When I was a child my mom use to cook fishes almost 1 time a week, but at that time (more than 40 years ago) there was less attention to the thyroid desorders and so a lot of people had problems like this, especially who lived on the mountains (less iodinize zones). Now the new generation has less problems of thyroids thanks a lot of campaigns to take care of the right diet ^^

Then if there is Japanese cuisine I would highly suggest the seaweed salad.

Posted using Partiko iOS

One of the common cause of this kind of desorder is too little iodine in the diet and here in Italy, since the 2005, we have a law about the dietary iodine in the school to prevent the thyroid desorders.

True, but itality is very close to the sea so you guys should get plenty of iodine, and if not, I think most table salt is alrdy enriched with iodine too, iodine is great not only for the thyroid but also for the brain.

I guess your family has some bad Thyroid producing genes...

Yes, my family seems to have a bad genes and talking with my endocrinologist he told me that in my area (I live in Tuscany, but not close to the sea) there are more people with this kind of problems than in other areas. The researchers think one of the reason of the higher % in this area was because the Chernobyl cloud after the disaster during the 1986, they are studying the effects in a long time.

Take care of it my dear. I checked mine several months ago for the first
time in life * I am 47 soon :) * and it works great. I had symptoms like it's not working good, but it turned out that was lack of iron instead.

It's always good to check the thyroid, my daughter checked her one some days ago and fortunately she was ok ^^ A lack of iron could give similar symptoms, I hope your level of iron come back to normal soon, dear @jungwatercolor ^^

I hope your thyroid will recover soon, Silvia, and that your depression and tiredness will alleviate away <3 It is difficult to look after ourselves, sometimes, isnt it? But it is worth the effort :)

The first time I had the symptoms was 8 years ago and it was really strange because I felt myself a different person, but fortunately when I went to my doctor , he thought soon it could be the hypothyoidism because my mom had the same desorder. I started to take the pills and everything came back to normal , so when those symptoms came back ( they are like waves, some days are ok, some days are not ok)some months ago I knew my thyroid was low again. Well, now I'm starting the new dose and so those symptoms will desappear soon

Hi, @silviabeneforti!

You just got a 0.1% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64752.70
ETH 3455.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50