How are you?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

A standard greeting in New Zealand is “how are you?” (How are yer mate?)

And a standard response to that is “good”

In fact this response is so standard that people often just say “how are yer mate, good?” and get the preliminaries sorted out faster.

After seeing a subtle nod of the head, the person inquiring can then wrap things up themselves by saying “Good on yer mate”

This week a friend asked me how I was in an email.

And this was my response – he probably wished he hadn’t asked…

"Two weeks ago @kiwideb came down with a sort of flu like thing and felt like crap. I had to do everything for a couple of days and managed to put my back out really badly – as in I could barely walk and was reduced to crawling, and then I also came down with the same thing she had.

Then her dad died and she had to help arrange the funeral. Her brother was flying in from Dubai but his plane broke down. He managed to get another flight via Melbourne and got here with not a minute to spare.

I had just managed to get to the point where I could barely walk down the front path to the street and we all got zoomed out to Lower Hutt in her nephews Honda Integra while I tried not to whimper every time the car hit a bump.

After a full on day of funeraling I was all finished up. But then I got a call to say my dad had just died as well.

Now I’m helping to arrange his very basic funeral (he wasn’t into that kind of stuff) and I can still barely walk.

As far as my dad goes I’m actually relieved that he has finally passed on because the state he was in (severe dementia) was far worse than being dead.

What a week!"

A photo of one of New Zealand's biggest hydro electric lakes, Lake Twizel, by my father Harry Gregson

(Twizel is the largest town in the Mackenzie District, in the Canterbury Region of New Zealand's South Island. The town was founded in 1968 to house construction workers on the Upper Waitaki Hydroelectric Scheme)

This is what I wrote for the funeral tomorrow:

Harry Gregson

It’s been such a long time since Harry was his full self that I have to think way back to how he used to be.

It’s hard to remember now, and I don’t think any of the nurses at the rest home could really have imagined any of this, but for most of his life, my dad was defined by his fitness.

He was into squash, tennis, badminton, walking, hiking, cycling and mountain biking. He completed one of New Zealand’s toughest mountain bike races, the Karapoti Classic, aged 60.

Pretty much every day he played squash and was consistently in the top five players at Tawa squash club for over 30 years.

At the squash club, the top players tended to be fairly elitist and most didn’t want to play with anyone who wasn’t as good as them. Dad was the exception, he would play with anyone, helping beginners to improve and explaining key tactics in a way that often rapidly transformed their game.

He designed many of the hydro-electric generators that now produce most of New Zealand’s electric power.

As an engineer he was always into the maths and the theory rather than the practical stuff. Back in the days when most engineers used slide rules, he was one of the first to get a new invention called a calculator.

Sometimes he liked to try and fix real stuff – cars, bikes, things around the house, but because that was practical rather than theoretical, some of the results were not that great.

On one occasion he decided to change the engine oil in his car. Unfortunately he drained the oil out of the gearbox rather than the engine, and then poured four liters of fresh oil into the engine.

As fate would have it, it was me who was first to drive the car. As I drove down the street it was making a horrible crunching sound from the gear box having no oil in it, and clouds of smoke were coming out of the engine which was totally flooded with twice as much oil as it was meant to have.

It was moments like this that inspired me to later become a mechanic.

Long ago he had a Triumph 650 Tiger motorbike and in more recent years he drove a Subaru Impreza. Once he managed to crash his motorbike on the motorway and break both his arms.

And once, while out tramping with mum, he slipped off a log while crossing a river and broke his leg.

This was in the days before cell phones, and the only option was to get hopping. He hopped for two hours and eventually got to the car park.

When he finally got to hospital, with his leg swollen up massively from all the hopping, a doctor told him his leg couldn’t possibly be broken because you can’t hop with a broken leg, so he should go home and put ice on it.

Eventually they agreed to x-ray it and found it was broken clean through.

Years later I broke my own leg falling off my mountain bike and had to hop for about two minutes. A doctor said the exact same thing to me, and then later apologised when my leg turned out to be broken.

What doctors don’t seem to understand is that if you are lying there with a broken leg, hopping is your only option. But even so, I am in awe of two hours – two minutes was beyond hard.

He played both mandolin and guitar, and he liked to listen to Spanish and Flamenco guitar music.

Although we all mourn death, I think he would have chosen to move on, he had been hopping for long enough, and it’s time now for him to rest in peace.


MY MINIMILIST STEEMIT SIGNATURE

If you seek more info, check out my WHOPPING BIG STEEMIT SIGNATURE

Sort:  

Jesus you guys!What a week alright. I love the non standard answer to how are you. I would much rather that answer. Sorry to hear about both of your Dad's!

Oh no, what a terrible time for you both. My thoughts are with you two. Take care and look after one another during this sad time. It's not fun losing a parent. Just terrible that you both lost one in the same week.

I'm at a loss for words when it come to consoling someone. It is something only time and keeping busy can heal. Thanks for telling a little about your father. Impressive man. I see where you get your smarts from. Peace to you both. ps I had to follow crypto-pro....jerk

I was very sorry to hear the news from Deb, it's good to hear that you're at peace with it. My own dad has had several close calls in the past couple of years, but since his mind is still here (other than some pharma influence that sometimes fucks with it) I'm still not quite prepared for the end. My love is with the two of you...and on the bright side, the natural balance of life will require next year to be a golden era :)

Thanks for your thoughts.

Yep it's a bit of a shit week. I really expected him to die 11 months ago and think I mostly started thinking of him as dead two years ago when it dawned on me that he had no idea who anyone was (including me).

Deb's dad lost the plot a lot faster. It's all hard, and certainly puts spam in perspective!

He was in places like this once - being brain dead in a rest home was not alive anyway.

I completely agree with that. I wouldn't want to stay here anymore if I couldn't remember all of the glorious places I've been and the beautiful people I loved.

Oh wow...what a week!!! First off, you wrote an amazing speech for your dad. What a guy!!!! Secondly I hope you and @kiwideb are feeling better and you can at least move properly now. Sorry to hear about kiwideb's father too. thirdly,.... mate !!...what a WEEK !!! think you guys might have to have a holiday. Next time it may be easier to just say "All good" if asked. Hope things will get better for you soon.

Thanks for sharing your nice memories about your dads.
He will be always there with you as long as ou think about him and sharing his memories.
Rest in peace.

One of the pieces of music we're going to play at the funeral tomorrow

beautiful music for the funeral, i watched the video completely.

Thoughts with you both!

Oh, I'm so sorry to hear all the stuff that has been happening.
That is a lot to deal with, especially all at once.

Take care of yourself my friend,

Thanks for your support - Steemit has actually been a great help, both by providing interesting distractions, and with nice messages.

Time for a funny kitten pic :)

Nice kitten pic!
My 9-yr-old girl said to give you a decent vote on this comment because she likes the kitten ... lol ...

I'm glad that Steemit is a welcome distraction for you.

None of our cats have ever been able to see themselves in a mirror, so I liked that pic too

cute this one.

very cute, thanks for sharing.

oh no it started on a lite note but ended on a very unfortunate way :( that is very sad to hear my friend

I think I might have to post some funny stuff next!

Holy Crap what a week for you both, didn't expect a post like this from your usual posts. It's heartfelt, my heart goes out to you both.
@biglipsmama

Thanks, yes I might go back to posting funny stuff for a while I think, to help crawl out from under the bus

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63184.34
ETH 2560.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72