Ramadan changed me completely.

in #life6 years ago

Often when a Muslim is asked why they fast, and many answer back saying to feel how poor people feel. Although there is an element of that, the benefits are much more to it. During Ramadan, it is not just that you are not allowed to eat and during the time between sunrise and sunset, there are many other things you are not allowed to do during that time and during the month.

During Ramadan, regular sins are seen as worse, so it pushes Muslims to be better than what they normally are to be good.

So treating people kindly, and being patient in situations where it is difficult to is necessary.

Not only that, people generally are encouraged to abstain from worldly desires:

So instead of watching movies and doing things just for the entertainment, it is highly encourage to pray, help the poor and needy and read the Quran. You are not allowed to have sexual intercourse with your partner from sunrise to sunset. The time which you are allowed, its difficult due to eating and praying.

So being able to check girls out in public without lowering your gaze is considered a sin, but it is an even bigger sin during Ramadan. And as Ramadan is in summer, this act alone is very difficult for many.

All of this in addition to being disciplined to pray 5 times a day and additional prayers is something that I found character building.

Everyone has different challenges during Ramadan. I went through challenging myself too and now I noticed a few things.

I became more patient, calm and have better self control

During long queues and in events where your patients are normally tested, I didn't feel as impatient with certain things, like waiting in a long queue in a hot day. My patience increased significantly.

I can also maintain falling to temptations now. No more craving food when I walk passed restaurants lol.

I became more driven even though I am calm

This is somewhat hard to explain. But I guess it is similar to people's experience with NO-FAP. I am less lazy. I am more confident when I speak with people. I am more confident in myself. It builds a type of hunger that is hard to explain unless you do it yourself. I am also more bothered to be more productive.

I turn up on time more than I used to when going to anywhere. I am basically more disciplined. When it comes to doing a task, such as washing dishes, I used to let myself give many excuses to do it later. But now I can just get up and do it.

It makes me well prepared for intermittent fasting

Normally making a transition from intermittent fasting would take time, however, after the month of Ramadan, I can go straight into intermittent fasting pretty comfortably.

Increased my concentration

I am able to notice that I can focus better. I used to have problems with ADHD however, so far its not bad at all. Although my Intermittent fasting right now might be helping me with this.

These are only some of the benefits that I have received. But these benefits are so far making the most amount of difference. I want to maintain this and allow myself to achieve my goals. Even though it is not too easy, I somewhat am looking forward to the next one.


Have a blessed day.

Image Sourcing: https://www.tesh.com/articles/setting-realistic-goals-will-help-you-achieve-them/
https://www.pinterest.co.uk/pin/9851692907478818/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60955.99
ETH 2884.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63