SNES Classic: Bringing Back My Childhood Nostalgia In The Best Way!! I Haven't Been This Excited Since The Original SNES

in #life7 years ago

Nintendo is releasing the SNES console with 21 amazing games!

And thus, Nintendo has given me back my childhood.

As a kid and a young man, the Super Nintendo Entertainment System was the single most memorable consistent experience of my life. To put it simply: I loved it.

The games for the SNES were powerful in their simplicity. In many ways -- and this is me speaking as a game developer myself -- the limitations of the system permitted developers to explore the limitations of themselves.

That might be a little too deep, but I believe that games are potentially one of the best forms of art to ever have been created, and many of the games on SNES were vanguards in this new art.

It is slated for release on September 29.

Games included with the system

There are 21 games that come with the system, along with 2 controllers (with extended cords -- I guess that was a complaint about the NES release).

And get this: one of the games is the NEVER BEFORE RELEASED StarFox 2!!!

  • Super Mario World
  • Super Mario Kart
  • The Legend of Zelda: a Link to the Past
  • F-Zero
  • Super Metroid
  • STAR FOX 2!!
  • Super Street Fighter II: Turbo
  • Super Punch Out
  • Castlevania IV
  • Donkey Kong Country
  • Mega Man X
  • Kirby Superstart
  • Final Fantasy III
  • Kirby's Dream Course
  • Star Fox
  • Yoshi's Island
  • Super Mario RPG
  • Contra III
  • Secret of Mana
  • Earthbound
  • Super Ghosts 'n Ghouls

What a FANTASTIC collection!!!

Some of the games that I'm most excited about here are: Mario Kart, Legend of Zelda, Metroid, Star Fox 2 (what a huge deal!), Super Street Fighter II: Turbo!! (this was one of the most substantial games of my childhood), Final Fantasy III, Super Mario RPG, Secret of Mana, and Earthbound.

These games were actually developmental to me and they play a very important part in my history. They explain lessons that I learned about life (FF III, Secret of Mana) and connections I was able to secure with friends and family (Mario Kart, Street Fighter), and I am so excited for this release.

Games that should have been added

I saw this Forbes article where the author lists 5 games that should have been added, and I can't say I disagree with the list at all.

  1. Earthworm Jim
  2. NBA Jam
  3. Chrono Trigger
  4. Mortal Kombat II
  5. Ninja Turtles IV: Turtles in Time

These games, especially Chrono Trigger and Mortal Kombat II were just as important as some others that I listed above.

In fact, Chrono Trigger may very well be the most important game to me besides Xenogears.

However, I know that you can't just include everything in a release such as this, and I honestly think they did a good job on the list.

... maybe they should have taken out one of the two Kirby games and replaced it with Chrono Trigger or Earthworm Jim. But I digress!!!

What do you think?

Are you excited about this release?

What games should they have included? What should they take out?

let me know in the comments.

Honestly, this is one of the few products that I'm actually excited to get!

I can't wait to share the experience of playing these great games with my own son, and live it all over again.
:D

Follow me @shayne

Sort:  

That looks like a great gift for someone I know!!

I completely agree that Chrono Trigger should have been added. I'm also big fan at The Secret of Mana and illusion of Gaia games as well. Regardless this is going to be an amazing grab for anyone who can find one. I have a feeling they are going to fly off the shelves just like the NES classic did so I would suggest pre-ordering ASAP for anyone interested. Nice post thanks for sharing.

Thanks for sharing this awesome news. After Nintendo had announced their Nintendo entertainment system classic edition i had basically expected that to be the end of their classic line. But really awesome to see that they have been going on with the SNES version as well. I did spend a ton of time on the Zelda game on this console. Funny how 16 bit games seemed like the best thing in the world back then. Have fun out there and good luck with your future posts.

The whole retro indie game industry has shown that it's not all about realistic graphics or film-like experiences. People love these SNES games because they're just good!!

I'm defiantly getting this when it comes out :D

That thing is cute 😂 Hurray for Nintendo! I've honestly been waiting for something as nostalgic as this for a while!

Pre-order mine, although i'm getting the EU model, looks much nicer in my opinion.

Nostalgia!

My childhood has now been restored , this is the best news all day :D

You can get a mini SNES classic @compuxparts It can play thousands of games and over 40 systems.

Ahh ... the good ol' days :) ... Now that I think about it , I can't really remember what I use to play on the SNES , save for a few that stuck in my swiss cheese memory haha)

F-Zero is definitely one I remember playing , Street Fighter , Super Mario RPG(I think , it was one of the marios anyway) , and I keep remembering playing Pilot Wings.

Yeah and Earthworm Jim was always good for a laugh :) ... can't remember if I played that on SNES or Sega tho.

Anyways ... nice to see the retro consoles getting some new life breathed into them.

great post @shayne
good information

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62847.35
ETH 2464.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64