We have a mouse problem, but also chipmunks?

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Oh dear.

I think we have a mouse problem. And a chipmunk problem.

giphy (37).gif

This is our first year of “country” living. We are on four acres of wooded land that had ticks galore all Spring and Summer, so we know there are mice nesting. Now that it’s cooling off outside, it seems they’ve decided to nest in our house.

Really, they may have been here all along. This house was vacant for a year before we bought it. And although it was kept clean and the property cared for, there is clearly a mole problem. And this mouse issue.

Fact is, I can’t open my garage door without seeing a mouse zip from one spot to another. We thought it was just one mouse. Not sure why. But we caught one today and not an afternoon later I already saw another critter skulking. Plus this guy in my ceiling.

For some reason, Ceiling Mouse (who I think is actually Ceiling Chipmunk) only runs around when I’m sitting alone in this room. No one else has heard him. He’s like the mouse in the bell tower in that Christmas movie. He sometimes jumps to the floor inside the wall around my bathroom and rattles the vent. I’m okay but not okay with it?

giphy (36).gif

My biggest issue is not the mice (although I had a nest in the seat of my van a year ago and it was a horror). Both of our cars are new leases. I don’t want any rodents moving in. And, of course, I don’t want them in my walls and ceiling if for no other reason than they stink up the walls when they die. There’s also the electrical issue, health hazards and so forth.

The problem is, they’re just so cute. And everywhere.

Yikes.

We have some work to do. So much it’s hard to know where to start.

This is an update on an older Steemit original post that went largely unseen and for which I still need recommendations. gifs from giphy.com

Sort:  

did you know you can get basic plugs that make a high pitch sound that only small creatures can hear but if you have them in the cavities there is a different plug that actually sends the sound or vibration ?? round the electric circuit disturbing them in the walls. It does work eventually. Dont use them if you have small pets like rabbits or hamsters. be careful with children too they can sometimes hear them.

Hmm. I wonder if I should try those! I worry that my kid who is really sound sensitive will hear or "feel" it, but it also seems like a compassionate option. Thank you! I'll research this!

I like this suggestion!

i just resteem your post. will you please resteem my post also?

Thank you! I'll head over to read.

Ok thank you to you too

did you do it?

Do you write all your own content! Your feed is an amazing up-to-date reporting on pop culture issues!

hey i am new to steemit.. i don't understand... i mean what is the problem.. and what should i do get more upvotes on steemit like you do.. please suggest me

My posts get upvoted because they are original content. I wrote and can prove I wrote all my work. I haven't shared from your feed because it looks as though you are repasting pop culture articles from multiple news sources. On steemit, the best tip is to be yourself!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58241.28
ETH 2648.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45