This post raises money for a new mother and baby!

in #life6 years ago

Hello Steemian Friends,

I am currently seated in Bloomington Hospital waiting for my dear friend, Lili, to deliver her precious baby boy. I thought I would do a post on her behalf since she is a single mother whose own mother has passed on. While she’s surrounded by loving friends and family at this time, her pregnancy has been fraught with difficulty, including two moves. One to a home she planned to stay in for years, and one last night from that apartment to a new one.

image
Lili resting and receiving oxygen.

I met Lili last night outside her new apartment. She was have short, irregular contractions. Since this is her first pregnancy, I knew that meant she could still be days away from delivery. We said goodbye, and her brother took her home. He stayed with her overnight.

This morning, our mutual friend, April, texted me just after my girls were off to school. I was at my usual haunt, Hoosier Athletic Club. I told my coach, “My friend is having a baby! I have to leave!” And Jenna hustled me out the door and signed me out of class with joyful well-wishes.

image
Lili receiving love from her birth team of friends.

The gym is just up the street from the hospital so it took me 5 minutes to get from the gym to Lili’s hospital room. I’m so happy she was happy to see me. And even happier to see her! This is a huge moment in her life. She is having a baby just a few days before her own birthday. And while she has family here, the father is not involved.

A little about Lili— I’ve written about her plenty of times, but as she gets in a quick nap, I want to share that she is basically a huge heart. What I mean is she is one of the kindest, most thoughtful women I have ever met. I am consistently surprised by her sense of self, articulation of boundaries and the personal strength both these things and becoming a single mother require.

image
Lili’s exhausted brother napping as Lili naps. He deserves it! He packed up her apartment and got her to her new place to sign her lease, then brought her to the hospital in the early morning.

I could not be more excited to support Lili as she labors and delivers, and I am delighted at the opportunity to continue supporting her with care after her baby arrives.

Here are just a few things she has done that are amazing:

signed up for Medicaid
found all free resources and made use of them
created a family helper business and budget and always showed up
never spent beyond her means
asked for help when she needed it but was extremely respectful of others’ needs and boundaries when doing so
moved to a healthier mother/baby location
moved again while in early labor
completed two semesters of college
showed up and done service for those in her life who needed it while she was in great need of support

image
image

Probably the most amazing of all is how Lili has worked to heal from the loss of her mother at a young age as she becomes a mother.

If you would like to support Lili, give this post an upvote. Resteeming is great. I will donate the equivalent of all Steem AND SBD to Lili.

image
Lili VERY excited her epidural is working.

If you would like to support her directly, here is her meal train site where you can donate gift cards and USD. https://www.mealtrain.com/trains/34enww

Whatever support you decide to give, know Lili is grateful. As am I. Times are lean right now. Thank you for you love.

xoxo,

Shawna

P.S. I will be back with a second baby update post!

Sort:  

What you are doing to help Lili is amazing and I love that you have taken it upon yourself to support her during this time. She sounds like an amazing young woman and I wish her all the best with bringing her baby into this world ❤.

Thank you @jusipassetti! Lili is an amazing person who is not only in need of love and support, but someone who has given me deep love and support when I've needed it. It's a gift to be able to give back to her. And it's a double gift to get snuggle time with her sweet baby.

This is such an amazing thing for you to do! I am sending positive vibes for an easy delivery and healthy baby. She sounds like a wonderful and strong woman.

Thank you, @magicalmoonlight! The delivery was hard and Lili is still in quite a lot of pain. She is napping right now. I am trying to make sure she gets all the sleep she can since she is staying with us right now. She will need it when it's just her and baby in a few short days. <3

Aww I am sorry to hear that. I hope that she feels better very soon. You are such an amazing person to help her out like this!

This is such a beautiful initiative, I'm always amazed by your kind heart. I wish all the best for her and her baby, she's blessed to have friends and family with her. She's a warrior! My upvote doesn't have much value, but my prayers are with her.

I have participated in the delivery of many babies whose mothers were completely alone and without a penny to even buy a diaper to them. It leaves you with an aching heart and hoping that you could help them all. Sigh.

I'm looking forward the next post with the cute baby pictures.

Your upvote and prayers are of immense value. Thank you for your support @hayleeng! I am so grateful to you and for the opportunity to support Lili.

How lovely <3 What a strong woman, I know she will raise a wonderful baby too! Thank you so much for sharing @shawnamawna, it always warms my heart to see things like this! -@skycae

Thank you @skycare! Lili is a person of immense power. Her heart is always producing magic through love and giving. She is tender and strong and I couldn't be happier for her baby that she's his mama.

It's nice of you to help others. Today, it is very difficult to find a real friend. Lili is very lucky to have you. I wish you many more beautiful years of friendship.

Ohhh. I love this wish. I feel I have known Lili forever, but it has really only been a year or two. I hope we stay family. I do enjoy co-parenting. Everyone in my family loves her. As I said to my elephant-minded friend, elephants mother together.

I get it now. Sorry it took so long to figure out.
Sent you some SBD

No worries at all! I am so very grateful!

My original reply was kind of a prayer or me talking to God, telling him I understand now the message of give and it will be added unto you. For a good part of my life I've been selfish with money. Since my cancer scare thing last year I've been trying to change my ways. When I read your post I heard a voice that said give her all your SBD. So I did. I hope things work out for Lili and I hope you get your house back to normal soon. Loving, genuine, real people as yourself are few and far between. God bless you and yours.
20170301_184810.jpg
Tree of Hope

I believe and have faith she will be alright very soon!!!! I will also pray for her
everyday. Wishing Lili all the best in life. @shawnamawna.

She is doing better and better @emmanuelacheamp. Please keep that beautiful positivity flowing. You are such a gift.

Thank you for the compliment. @shawnamawna.

Lilli seems like a strong woman.
I hope she delivers safely.
My prayers are with her.

Thank you. She did and is recovering well. Actually upstairs. I need to go and check on her and baby. I hear a baby crying!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

You and Lilli are both amazing!! It is such a pleasure to upvote, resteem, and share this post.

Also, I am very glad for Lilli that her epidural worked. Those things are seriously magic.

They really are! She had really intense back labor and all sorts of other pain, so it was definitely a necessary and wonderful plus. The anesthesiologists were very attentive and kind, as were the nurses and doctor. It was amazing to be a part of it all.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58431.17
ETH 2653.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44