Playing catchup after night nursing

in #life6 years ago

Lili's baby is the sweetest, easiest, most smelly-good baby I've had the pleasure of co-parenting. I know I'll be sad when it's time for him to head to their new home sweet home. I mean, waking up and getting baby snuggles first thing? Nothing beats that. Not even sleeping through the night.

IMG_0179.jpg
Appa is in love with the new puppy. Ahem, baby.

Friends, my tired levels are at an all-time high. I've been Baby's night nurse since Saturday, meaning I am changing, feeding, burping, changing, swaddling and (of course) giving lots of kisses to the little guy. It's only a one hour turnaround diaper to swaddle, but it's three times a night. I'm dragging a bit, but that's okay. I will have plenty of time to rest later and Lili's recovery is going very well. The more she sleeps, the more she sparkles.

GUESS WHAT?!

Today is Lili's birthday.

My girls brought her eggs and dried apricots and sang to her before heading off to school. I gave her a small gift last night--a water bottle so she can keep hydrated. I'm hopeful we can make her a cake today (or at least pick her up a cupcake). She has a friend coming this morning who may take care of that. Either way, we do plan to celebrate our dear Lili.

Remember, you can celebrate or support her by sending SBD or Steem to @shawnamawna with the memo "Love offering for Lili."

I will cash it out and either hand her USD or pick up what she tells me she needs. I'll also report back to let you know what we were able to provide.

I'm sorry this is a such a quick note. I'll ask if I can do a photo post of the baby later. I just wanted to reach out and say I miss you, Steemit friends. I'm still here. I'm just a bit slow on writing and responding and I haven't had a single second to read. I'll be supporting you as soon as I get some rest.

Love to you all,

Shawna

Sort:  

I am curious though, do women enjoy the snuggles + chores of keeping babies dry and healthy. I asked that because the wife of a brother always complains of fatigue with her new born Adam.

Is it as much enjoyable as it is stressful?

The answer to your question is yes ☺️. There is nothing more delightful thank caring for your baby, but it is also the most exhausting time of your life. Having helpers like Shawna, whose bodies have not been ravaged by the labor process and are working through new (and more) hormones is so important.

*Edit: I will add, your sister-in-law would likely be grateful if you and your brother would open your eyes and do things around the house that need doing. Don't ask what you can do to help. Just help.

Thanks for taking your time to answer. I agree having someone to help out with some chores around the house helps. And for the record, I don't live with them only visit occasionally. My brother though (her husband) I noticed doesn't like taking the child when home mostly due to the child crying and sometimes unexpected urination.

Do I blame him for that, I am sorry to say No. Our orientation here is the male is the breadwinner while the female stays home to cater for the babies and anything in the house.

So here you have the husband providing anything and everything needed, all the house financials, from feeding, health, schooling to clothing, shelter. The woman on the other hand is mostly a stay at home mother taking care of everything in the house.

Mind you, even in cases where the woman works (have a job or business), the husband is expected and should be responsible for everything in the house.

So in most cases, males shy away from these little things in the house, which at times I believe help in creating stronger bonds. Like cooking for your lady breakfast before she even wakes up. Here people would say the man is weak.

Sorry to bore you with how my culture here is. @rachelhanson. And like I said I appreciated your response.

Cheers.

I fully agree with @rachelhanson10!

You didn't bore me with your culture at all! I appreciate the explanation.

But imagine, if you will, that while it may be a cultural norm for women to take care of everything domestic they don't like it any more than the men do. And the men get a break from their jobs, the women never do.

Well, I am with you on that one.

I'm glad we could fine common ground :).

I just know I'm not exactly jumping for joy when my kids vomit or urinate on me. But it's part of being a parent. And thankfully, it doesn't happen often.

You are welcome.

What a lovely baby.

He's an absolute sweetheart.

omg look at her! I miss that baby smell.

I'll sniff his head for you!

awesome! :)

The baby is so innocent and cute.... Happy birthday too to Lili. @shawnamawna.

Aww, thank you! I will pass this on to her. She is doing so much better in the last two days. <3

I can well understand the fatigue ❤️. You are doing an amazing thing.

I'm so glad I have the ability. The thing that fills my heart the most is how much my kids are pitching in. I was pretty uncertain how it would go. They have been phenomenal.

❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58949.08
ETH 2306.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47