Lessons from hosting a newborn and his mama

in #life6 years ago

Having Lili in the house is like having a long sleepover which is to say I’m way overtired and always excited because there is a fun person to do fun stuff with. Oh, and an adorable baby.

image

Let me state, for the record, that I find my whole family fun. But fun with Lili is more like friend or sister fun versus partner-lover fun or parent-child fun. Lili reminds me of when I lived in the same house with my sisters. Because I rarely see my sisters, this is healing.

In fact, there has been a lot of healing with Lili here. Part of this is just her nature. She is a thinker and deeply intuitive. One of those people who asks questions that shake things up. While she was laboring, I had a positive flashback. A genuine flashback of a truly happy moment from a time period so full of abuse my mind has blocked most of it. I was surprised but also not because this is just the type of thing that happens around Lili.

Caring for her son has reminded me of how much I loved having newborns. I chased that thought and realized it is because newborns can’t hurt you. They are safe. You keep them safe. And there is implicit trust between you.

As a survivor of violence at the hands of my parents, this is enlightening. First the remembering there was a time I LOVED parenting. Second the understanding that my resistance to it now is a lack of trust that my children won’t, as my parents did, hurt me.

So, even though I am so tired it feels like I’m floating, there are clear and wonderful upsides to hosting a friend and her newborn. Which is to say, it’s scary to imagine doing what we’re doing, but it’s worth the risk.

Xoxo,

Shawna

Sort:  

Nothing like the joy and miracle of life to keep you up at night. Nothing like the sincere love of a friend to remind you of how precarious and precious agape love is. Your story in taking her in brings me joy and delight in knowing children of abuse can and off times do change the world in simple acts of kindness. My heartfelt prayers are with you.

I am quite late in responding to this wonderful comment. I want you to know @spozone, that this means quite a lot to me. I'm so grateful I am not what I might have been. Thank you.

You are most welcome. I totally get that last statement and agree. The road ahead is paved in gold and I can't wait to skate them.

Sweet and important reflections, thanks for sharing!

Sounds like you are truly having a blessed time and I'm so happy that you are enjoying it so much. Babies truly are blessings and like you I always enjoy spending time with them.

It has been wonderful. Their last day here is today and I'm feeling all kinds of sad for me, but all kinds of excited for them.

I guess that is Lili and her baby... She looks very strong and healthy. I'm happy
to see her this way. @shawnamawna.

Yes! She is. They are doing so very well. I'm happy to see improvements each day. Lili was out walking around much of the day yesterday with her little guy. I know it wore her out, but it was the perfect day weather-wise and about two weeks post-partum is when a little boost of energy happens. I was grateful she let me change, feed, swaddle and sing to her laddie while she ate dinner. I do love putting babies to bed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58241.28
ETH 2648.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45