Dealing with Personal Disappointment #MyOkayest Day 7 of 7

in #life7 years ago

Is there anything more frustrating than thwarted expectations? My sprained wrist is getting in my way. I joke about the constant slouchy hat look I’m rocking, but what I’d really like is to wash my hair, style it properly and feel like I look my best. I would also like to fully participate in workouts at my gym. After what feels like forever, I am strong enough to work at mid-level almost always. Considering the incredible physical hurdles I’ve overcome, it’s incredible. On days like today, when I have to cater to my sprained wrist and not go as hard as I’d like, the disappointment is keen.

image

Hear me out for a minute. I have a wish list. I want to:

Paint the bedrooms of my house
Remove the remaining carpet
Repair the broken tile on my bathroom floor
Nail down the metal things that separate the carpet from vynil
Type quickly
Sleep without jerking awake because I rolled on my bad arm
Swing kettlebells using both hands (although my right arm is looking pretty toned)
Scoop up my littlest daughter
Stop accidentally velcroing my brace to things
Did I already say wash my hair properly?
Not be injured anymore.
Chop veggies for dinner

What I’ve been doing is working around my limitations. I recognize that this is not permanent. In fact, I am almost at the finish line of this injury. Until then, it’s slouchy hats and one-armed kettle bell swings. In other words, I’m going to keep showing up even though itms frustrating. That is as okayest as it gets!

I hereby nominate @emilysgems97 to participate in the #MyOkayest challenge. What say you? Learn more about the challenge here.

Sort:  

You know how to rock a slouchy hat, lovely woman.

Thanks for your inspiration

Awww. Thank you. <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63679.06
ETH 2628.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83