Cookies for the Homeless Update: Our First Cookie Giveaway

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Guess what?! My Junior Girl Scout was able to donate the first five boxes of cookies today and it was THANKS TO YOU. These cookies went to a couple who recently lost their home and business in a fire in one fell swoop. They happened to stop by our gym this morning. My daughter is taking a mental health day (meaning she needs a break from people), so she was with me at my workout where we learned this couple's story.

IMG_0965.JPG
Here she is feeding her baby doll.

Audra and Jase own a CrossFit affiliate in Columbus, Indiana called DeathProof CrossFit. It was consumed in a fire that began in a neighboring store late last month. Audra shared that she lost all but one photo of her father, and if she could have saved anything, it would have been photos of her parents. Their loss was devastating, but the pair had beautiful attitudes and were a pleasure to work out with.

If you are interested in helping them out, they do have a GoFundMe page. Since my assets are currently tied up in Steemit, I headed to the trunk of my car where 26 boxes of Girl Scout Cookies were waiting. My daughter gave them two boxes of Do Si Dos, two boxes of Thin Mints and one box of Samoas. Audra's smile was huge as we handed her the gift, and I kicked myself for not getting a picture. Honestly, I didn't take one because I got the vibe both Audra and Jase are exhausted from being looked at after all this mess.

I promise to get a picture of the other cookies we donate and my girls with them.

Meanwhile, if you still want to donate SBD or STEEM to go toward Cookies for the Homeless, please do so by February 28th.

THANK YOU to everyone who donated so far. Remember that our goal is 200 boxes. Between us, we've raised funds for and purchased 46. One box of cookies cost $4 USD. We'd love to receive your donation and bring joy to more people who have suffered the devastating loss of their homes.

Recent Posts

Don't forget, best comment on this account or @nat5an each week gets 5SBD reward.

Steemit Bloggers
Appreciator
Animated Banner Created By @zord189

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57151.22
ETH 3067.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32