Kurt Cobain- Memories of a 90s Child

in #life7 years ago

Came across this picture of Kurt Cobain on social media a while back.

BEF76EDE-90F1-4293-A7C7-4A36D93EB233.jpeg

This picture made this now middle aged man realize just how much of a part of my life Kurt Cobain and Nirvana and that whole entire era of music was to me.

I still remember when Smells Like Teen
Spirit came out and how fast Kurt Cobain became a mega rock star. I still to this day think Kurt Cobain’s greatest music accomplishment was knocking Michael Jackson out of number 1 on the Billboard Chart with the Nevermind album.

There were quite a few parallels between Cobain’s life and mine. Like Cobain, I dealt with a nasty divorce between my parents, and lived in a small, depressing little town where there wasn’t a lot of opportunities for younger people that sounded much like his hometown of Aberdeen, Washington. I suppose I found it to be somewhat inspiring that someone who clearly had flaws and demons to achieve what Kurt Cobain did.

I still remember hearing about Cobain’s death. I was in a car and it was reported on the radio that they had found him dead, and there was a suicide note found at the scene.

I had no idea at the time, but looking back, his death really was the end of an era. This thing called the Internet came around not too long and changed the music business forever. Gone were the days where it was a big deal when your favourite song came on the radio, or when it was a big deal when you saw a great music video on MTV. Technology gave us too many great choices on what we could do with our time.

Kurt Cobain was the last HUGE rock star. There’s never going to be another era of music like that ever again.

Sad, but true.

Sort:  

You and I must be right around the same age. I too was sixteen years old when I heard on the radio that Kurt had died. Bummed me out greatly. Nevermind was one of the first CDs I bought with my own money, and it's easily one of the greatest rock albums of all time.

Back in 2014, one of the local radio stations mentioned it was the 20th anniversary of his death, and man did that make me feel old. It also made me wonder what his life would have looked like had he not died. Forty-seven years old, a twenty-two year old daughter, and god only knows how much more music.

Then again, when the demons get their talons into you, whether it's depression, or drugs, or alcohol, or that special mixture of all three at once, it can be almost impossible to shake them off.

Kurt achieved far more notoriety in his 27 years than any of us reading this will achieve in ours, so rather than mourn his death, I try to celebrate his life by enjoying the gifts he left behind, the poems transcribed from his tormented heart into blood- and ink-stained pages, and the songs that helped define and give voice to a new generation.

See that smiling guy, right there in the middle? That's the Kurt Cobain I think about today. That's how I remember him. I'd like to think he found the peace he sought, and that with the lights out it was less dangerous.

Yeah, I just hope he’s at peace with himself. Wherever he is.

Great pic find!
Dude your words hit home!
I was to young to realize it at the time but it truly was the end of an era!

I just don’t see how there will ever be another era of rock like that ever again.

There are bands with similar weight but only underground not mainstream. So no a band like that as far as I can see will be swept up into mainstream like they were while sticking to there principles

Man I wish I was a few years older so I could Of fully appreciated them while Kurt was still around

I was 16 when he died. I just wish I could have seen Nirvana live in concert just once!

You have received an upvote from STAX. Thanks for being a member of the #steemsilvergold community and opting in (if you wish to be removed please follow the link). Please continue to support each other in this great community. To learn more about the #steemsilvergold community and STAX, check this out.

I heard about his death on TV, when my oldest was almost 4 months old. I was saddened about it, because I knew he had struggled SO hard,...

I was in Coquitlam when I found out in my stepfather’s car. Try to imagine how much more great music he could have gave us. He was a great songwriter, no doubt about it.

The classic rock stations here in Edmonton are beginning to play music from that era like Nirvana, Pearl Jam, and Green Day. It makes me proud. The music I listened to in my teens wasn’t total crap!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64647.65
ETH 3473.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50