When you see someone struggles, do you help?

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemit peeps,

So today like every other day I give what I can to help others in need. Homeless people. Yes! HOMELESS people, the ones you see out in the cold, sleeping on the streets, the ones standing infront of Mc Donald's or just around the corner from them.

I understand, some do think " what have you done to get you this low and why not get up and do something to earn money". Yes, it is a sacrifice they need to take. However, if you weren't homeless before you won't know how hard it is to get money, and the hours they spend begging gets them more money than looking for small jobs to do and the kind of money they earn is just enough to buy them a bread, which costs R10,00. Sometimes even lucky to get to buy polony as well, that is about R9,00(Check the currency using Google if interested in knowing what is the money they earn in your country) it's not a lot, but there are so much people in this world and so much walking past them that does not help.

Fair enough! It's not our problem ( ones who work, earns money and has a roof over their heads) and it's not a forceful choice to help, but really how good is your heart and soul knowing that you had a few cents in your pocket/wallet and did not want to take it out because you had some cash that would be visible and you don't want to show them.what you have because you said you only have coins that you going to use..or lie and say you have nothing. They don't want your money, they just need your help.

It takes nothing to help as the money you can give you earn in less than hour at work, and the cents/coins/penny's ect that you can give, why not?

This person I gave a R5 to was so happy I gave him so much. He got up and started walking in the same direction as I am as there is a street vender nearby where I work, he told me he can finally eat. In this 5minute walk from the train station to my work, I learnt so much. This boy who boy is 19 years old, his name is Jeremy. He never went to school, he can't read. I know this because at the street vender, the prices of the packet of chips were visible and he did not know the name of the brand and just requested "can I have the blue packet, just one if I can" the chips are R1, he can have 5 if he really wants". His been living on the streets for nearly 12years. After his mother died, he was left with no one but his mother friends who eventually neglected him shortly of her passing on. So almost from this 12 years, his been living on food in trash, eating cheap packed chips and cleaning himself in the public toilets.

If you can help someone, please do. I dont know what its like to be starving, I never starved before but I know what its like to be hungry....and that is already not a good feeling, and to struggle for so long to get food and start begging for money or food is already a sign for desperation to survive. We all humans, help those in need.

Thanks for reading Steemit

Sort:  

Really good post Shane. I can see that your heart is in the right place, not like most people these days. I generally help them but i will be a hypocrite to say that i help every homeless man/woman i meet. There are also a lot of scamers out there and i believe that this mademost people decide not to help any of them. I followed you, hope to see more interesting posts like this in the future.

Thanks, it is true what you say...there are scammers that changes the view of helping the ones really in need. But either my gut is lying or the people I see are really in need. I don't know, but I do tons of analyzing on people...you can see it in peoples eyes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60589.35
ETH 2628.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53