You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Dilemma of Value and Why Perfectionism is Overrated...

in #life5 years ago

Perfectionism in my mind gets in the way of creating anything at all, and that's worse than uploading mediocre content.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I mostly disagree, but it also depends what you think of mediocre content. Because what’s mediocre to you, might be another ones daVinci. For me personally true mediocre content has the ability to ruin your previous work.

I am talking about the mental barriers to creating content. "Perfectionism** in my mind** gets in the way of creating anything at all". That is, zero content being produced. It's neither daVinci, or crap because it doesn't exist at all.

While every attempt should be be made to make the best content possible, it isn't always feasible.
Perfectionism leads to procrastination. So, in my mind, I have to get to the point where "this is good enough" in order to launch the content I do.

Mediocre, to me in the quote above, means that which is halfway between perfect and crap.
Do I spend hours trying to find the right photo to accompany a blog entry?
Or will the first one that comes to mind be good enough?
The answer is the one that actually gets the content launched.

I can always improve on previous work with the next piece.

You may find a book called 'The War Of Art' (not The Art Of War) to be of interest.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61451.22
ETH 2929.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65