The INTERPRETER inside you

in #life6 years ago

When I was young I wanted to be an interpreter.

Interpreting is a very difficult task because it needs absolute focus on what is being said in order to convert words from one language into another. I liked the idea of moving to Switzerland, far far away from my parents where college was and since I loved foreign languages… I believed I could make it. Unfortunately, I wasn’t qualified enough and the dream of working as an interpreter in the UN faded quickly.

interpretation.jpeg

Now I know that nothing disappears, it comes again back altered and in disguise if it’s our calling. So instead of walking away from your special talents stay tuned and present, simply bearing witness and keep focusing on the things you do best.

Of course I did not know which other route was beneficial for me at the time but I trusted that my love for interpreting will appear in another form more congruent to me as I grew older. And then French literature knocked on my door as my first degree even though it was my second choice. I was trained in a different way to interpret what the author wanted to communicate, to read under the lines, to find the hidden meanings of a poem in a more mature and closer to my real self, way.

Then came my children and an interpretation (a quick one) was essential for their well being of the noises they made at night, their cries during the day, the sounds of their tummies, the meaning of stress behind sucking their thumbs, the throwing of tantrums which meant “ I am mad at you” but did not know how to express it, the teenage phase of rejection of me and the discovery of friends, which meant I love you but let me fly, the tremendous transition to adultery when they were trying to form an identity.

An assignment of meanings to concepts, objects, symbols was my new job and I started to facilitate dialogues between parties that spoke different languages, to understand unspoken worries, to elucidate confused meanings, to become an active listener, to develop insight. I was becoming a counselor without knowing it and started slowly slowly to step out of the fog and see clearly first for myself and then facilitate others to do so.
Now I know that our talents are just waiting to be brought in light and that happens when we trust the process. Do not say “I can’t make it”, just bring awareness to your calling and then let it lead the way. It will find the best way for you to express itself.

thoughts.jpeg
(Google images)

So be really careful of the interpreter we all have inside our system. Watch him closely. He is the one who constructs the explanations. Even though he receives the data without plus or minus he has the ability to decide what the significance of something is to you. And that is where you must be vigilant and very careful. His job is completely neutral. The hidden interpreter you have hired for life can interpret your life as good or bad any minute. Make sure he knows what he is doing because it’s all in the interpretation we give it. Be very careful to how he interprets your life and keep him only if he is capable of activating your ability to create meaning and purpose in whatever appears, only if he elucidates the hidden opportunities, only if he provides a safe and supportive setting, refrains from being judgmental, avoids labeling and maintains impartiality. He is to stay only if he adapts to situations that can’t change and views each situation with unconditional positive regard, empathy and genuineness.

If not FIRE HIM IMMEDIATELY !!!! and with no regrets.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @sevenskies! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch


Welcome to Steem @sevenskies.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchian works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65306.74
ETH 3488.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51