A Day in the Life of an Anarchist

in #life8 years ago (edited)

I woke up to glorious rays of sunlight coming from a region of space of which no government has laid claim. I enjoyed a brief moment, basking in the light of freedom before going about my day. I could hear the beautiful chirps of birds who were ruled by no one. 

For breakfast I fried some eggs and had toast with butter. While cooking I was reminded of the peaceful exchange that led to my ownership of this food. A vendor had food and I had currency. They wanted my money more than they wanted their food and I wanted their food more than my money. How convenient! It couldn't have worked out more perfectly. 

Next I enjoyed the authority I have over my own body and property by getting into my car and driving to a place of business. As it so happens, this organization had offered me a trade - I would give them my time and labour in exchange for more currency. This seemed like a good deal to me since I knew I could use that money to trade for necessities of life. 

I laboured for eight and a half hours, contented by the fact that they would follow through on the terms of our agreement. They had dealt with me honestly before so I had confidence that they would continue to do so. If it weren't for this trust, I would trade my ability, body and time with another party. And others would follow until that place of business could no longer sustain itself. Fortunately, that kind of action hasn't been necessary. 

When I returned home, I kissed the woman whom I had pledged in front of witnesses to be committed to for the rest of my life. We enjoyed a meal together made up of more food that we had acquired through similar means to that which I ate in the morning. 

The house where I live is owned by another man since I cannot yet afford to purchase or build my own. With a heart full of gratitude that there are people out there willing to exchange the use of their property with me for a rate that I can afford, I paid my landlord the amount that we had agreed upon. 

At the end of the day I remembered some sad truths... 

Though I had tried to live out my day as a free man, almost none of my actions were left untouched by the hands of a parasitical faction who call themselves "the government."

I was unable to trade for food without them taking a cut of the exchange.

I couldn't drive my vehicle without taking multiple tests to prove my ability to the government, and then paying them a fee every few years to retain this right of transport.

I was not allowed to work for another man without the government forcing me to give them a percentage of every paycheck. 

My rent has had to be increased due to the burden of constant state robbery placed upon my landlord simply because he owns land.

Even my marriage had to be legitimized by expensive state documents.


I live my life as a peaceful man, interacting peacefully with others who wish to do the same. But I am met with theft and a constant threat of violence from a group of men who claim they have the moral right to do unto me that which I am not allowed to do to anyone else.  



~Seth

The artwork was created by me exclusively for this Steemit post.

Sort:  

I love the highlighting of all the subtle ways trade exists in our society within this post. I'm a professional gambler, and I constantly have to remind people that all things in life carry risk and can be viewed as gambling or risk. The level of health insurance you buy is gambling. Driving to see a friend is risking death in a car to see someone you enjoy spending time with. Flying to see family cross country is risking death for the reward of time spent with love ones. Risk is omnipresent just as trade is.

and while I believe in the idea of free trade, I can't seem to wrap my head around a lack of all regulations. Sure I hate the government's greedy paws dipping into everything I do, but some regulation is positive. Countries with stricter gun control have far fewer murders, suicides, and accidental deaths. Automobile regulation has made cars significantly safer over the years.

The problem is I dont see how to draw a line. Some regulation is helpful. But it becomes a slippery slope. Is no regulation really going to be truly better than how far something is likely to slip down that slope?

wrote a longer response here: Why is anarchy necessarily better?

dude: you need to write a post based on this comment!!!

I guess I should. What's held me back is that I'm so uneducated when it comes to politics, government, anarchy, etc compared to everyone here. But I'll frame it as more of a "teach me" approach

:) looking forward to it.

Honestly I don't have an answer for you. I'm an anarchist for moral reasons - I don't believe any man has the right to rule over another. Not for pragmatic reasons. Though I do believe that a world without government will generally be better, I don't have all of the answers for how that world would function.

I think there are definitely ways to incentivize safe behaviour and accountability without the violent force of the state. I'm just not the one who has come up with the solutions. I just might think on this for a while.

I guess the answer is as some say, pure anarchy is not ideal.

This article was amazing, and really highlights the reality of it.

The reality is that it's not THAT bad. It's just... troublesome to live in a world where a third party gets a cut of everything, and also gets to tell you what you can or can't do.

Yea. I wanted to draw attention to the truth that this isn't a hell hole. I definitely don't live in the worst place in the world. I live under a much more "benevolent" master than many others. But just because it isn't the worst thing in the world doesn't mean it's okay.

Thanks for the feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed the article.

I enjoyed your article, nicely structured for impact. I also enjoyed your artwork, it has skill and energy.

Thanks for the positive feedback :)

Amazing post! Short, straight to the point and packed with truth.

Thanks! I'm glad you liked it.

Hey,
Reading this brought a smile to my face. This is the first post I read on steemit I just signed up and I love it already Thank you!!! Always good to hear from like minded people I hope the rest of the community is on a similar wavelength .

There's a lot of variety here on Steemit but there is a really strong community of anarchists.

I'm glad you liked my post

As a non-anarchist, it's very difficult for me to grasp this perception from one to another. I guess we've all been feeling this for quite a while now--the itch, the curiosity. The thing is, not many of us are willing to go down the rabbit hole to find the truth, many are just comfortable with the way things are.

As @daut44 says, we'd have to make a gamble between living/knowing the real truth Vs. giving up our security and protection (sometimes it's really a false sense of protection and the illusion of security). Great post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63749.66
ETH 3419.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48