You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Day in the Life of an Anarchist

in #life8 years ago (edited)

I love the highlighting of all the subtle ways trade exists in our society within this post. I'm a professional gambler, and I constantly have to remind people that all things in life carry risk and can be viewed as gambling or risk. The level of health insurance you buy is gambling. Driving to see a friend is risking death in a car to see someone you enjoy spending time with. Flying to see family cross country is risking death for the reward of time spent with love ones. Risk is omnipresent just as trade is.

and while I believe in the idea of free trade, I can't seem to wrap my head around a lack of all regulations. Sure I hate the government's greedy paws dipping into everything I do, but some regulation is positive. Countries with stricter gun control have far fewer murders, suicides, and accidental deaths. Automobile regulation has made cars significantly safer over the years.

The problem is I dont see how to draw a line. Some regulation is helpful. But it becomes a slippery slope. Is no regulation really going to be truly better than how far something is likely to slip down that slope?

wrote a longer response here: Why is anarchy necessarily better?

Sort:  

dude: you need to write a post based on this comment!!!

I guess I should. What's held me back is that I'm so uneducated when it comes to politics, government, anarchy, etc compared to everyone here. But I'll frame it as more of a "teach me" approach

:) looking forward to it.

Honestly I don't have an answer for you. I'm an anarchist for moral reasons - I don't believe any man has the right to rule over another. Not for pragmatic reasons. Though I do believe that a world without government will generally be better, I don't have all of the answers for how that world would function.

I think there are definitely ways to incentivize safe behaviour and accountability without the violent force of the state. I'm just not the one who has come up with the solutions. I just might think on this for a while.

I guess the answer is as some say, pure anarchy is not ideal.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58450.19
ETH 2652.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43