Very Important Parent @senseicat

in #life6 years ago

My son's been away during the past week and today, I feel extremely proud of my parenting! Most of the time, I am hoping that I am saying the right thing or doing the right thing.

He struggled with one of his classes this past quarter and he had a really rough time accepting that he did not receive a near perfect score. I saw myself in him in that moment and remembered when I struggled in economics and chemistry in college.

I comforted him and told him that I know that he did his best. There were extenuating circumstances that made the situation even more difficult. I told him that it is important to recognize what the challenges were and address them now because they will come up again as the school year progresses.

vip.jpg

It was a wonderful teaching moment in our family. He learned he needs to review more in this subject area and on his own time. He is spending today reviewing the chapters he struggled with and is working so hard to make sure he understands the material before beginning the next quarter.

I also reassured him that I do not love A,B, or C's. When he looks at me quizzically, I remind him that I love him and he gives me a warm smile.

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61372.42
ETH 2928.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66