Born A Minimalist @senseicat

in #life6 years ago (edited)

For those who know me best, one of the first words that they use to describe me is a minimalist. Looking back, I was one of the early adopters and it was not necessarily by choice.

I was born in a small fishing village and economically poor by universal standards. I essentially had the clothes on my back and no other possessions. All I had was ambition, imagination, and dreams to propel me.

After moving to America as a youngster, I immediately felt weighed down by the sheer amount of consumerism. Instead of feeling like I hit the jackpot with creature comforts of a new home in an industrialized nation, it had the opposite effect on me.

minimalism.jpg

It is difficult for me to understand the importance of acquiring and possessing so many material possessions. I have family and friends who pride themselves on having multiple items of the same thing and it makes absolutely no sense to me.

I believe that I was born a minimalist and will always appreciate fulfilling my dream of staying a minimalist. I prefer to create memories with interesting people, read books, and see different parts of the world. I truly believe that less is MORE and that many people who have far less are actually happier!

Sort:  

Being a minimalist is freeing. When i retired i learned how to be more creative in my home remodeling. Instead of spending a thousand plus on a new entry door. I had time, and learned how to build my own door. So in addition to saving money, i learned how to do with less and found my woodworking gift🤗
Resteemed👍

Wow, that is remarkable! You sharing your story reminded me of the enjoyment of woodworking class in my early teens. I built a circuit tester and a marble game.

Funny as i age im leaning towards this. Im not a collector but a little bit of a hoarder. Always saving things i might need. But im learning to let go. Id rather someone else use the things that are collecting dust in my home.

I also prefer to share things that I no longer need so I gather it, thank it, and then donate it to someone who can benefit from it.

Thanking it is a very good sentiment. I feel i can learn alot from you. The world would be a better place if more people would consider others. At least we can try and make a difference with one kind action at a time. Have a lovely Friday and keep sending out those postive vibes ✌🏽

Hey @senseicat - I totally agree. Minimalism is the most aesthetically pleasing thing for me to look at. A few different spots of focus, nothing too cluttered. Dual-tone color scheme for an excellent look.
I like your saying, less is more. Nice post!

I am also like you !

I like it your all post I always follow you.friend please support me

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54114.77
ETH 2331.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.13