Cemetery in Zemun: Old Jewish Cemetery

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Our cemetery is located on the Gardoš hill and we can say that it is made of some three parts: Jewish, Catholic and Orthodox cemetery.
On my photography below you can see the stones on the old part of the Jewish cemetery, and as you can see they are moved a bit, because the hill itself has catacombs underground, the ones that date from the Austro- Hungarian rulement on this territory, so the ground is not so stable.

DSCN2355-irena.jpg

Sort:  

Thanks so much for sharing this. I imagine there is a lot of history there. Tell me more about the catacombs sometime. Resteemed

Oh yess, it will be my pleasure to make a story about catacombs of Zemun, or how we reather call them - "lagumi", based on works of researchers!
I am very glad I can share beauty of our cemetery with you. I didn't understand if there is an actual contest that will live on? This is very interesting subject. I would be glade to take some more photos these days!

It is a challenge, not a contest.I try to give upvotes and sometimes reblog your post. Maybe I can give prizes when the price of Steem goes up. But for now, you did it just right.

Oh, that was what I meant, sorry, sometimes I get lost in translation - so, will this *challenge go on? I am not sure if this was your first curating of this cemetery topic? Sometimes I am not sure how to search on steemit. I easily miss somethings, you know.

Loading...

Thank you dear @melinda010100 for the repost!

You are welcome. I like the search function on @esteem better than any of them. There is a link at the bottom of all of my posts (the whale hugging the heart) click on him to read about eSteem Surfer.

Congratulations @semipermeabile! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Hello, just a friendly reminder. The #photofriend tag is meant to be used by the members of @photofriend.

Come to join us on Discord: https://discord.gg/qtbFfkp and read the ‘start-here’ to become a member.

(Check the rules.)

@photofriend - A community of photographers supporting original photography on the Steem blockchain and fight against plagiarism. To improve the overall Steeming experience and help fellow photographers is our shared mission.

Hey there photofriend community, sorry. Tag removed! One question - why is it obligatory to be on discord if one is a member?

We are an active community and we engage with each other. Discord is a great way how to communicate. We also share several announcements, updates and many more on our Discord.

You do not have to be very active on Discord. Visiting us once or twice a week is enough to stay updated.

Steem on! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67888.24
ETH 3518.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71