You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: DEPRESSION -- Why Is Everyone So Damn Depressed…

in #life7 years ago (edited)

It is an interesting subject and one that I've spent time on both sides of. I've been in long term depression and I've risen out of it.

I've heard it said that being at the bottom of a hierarchical structure leads to depression. To reach the apex of a hierarchy implies control or autonomy of action. Our choices are not made for us. We make our own choices.

The seeking of external validation over internal validation can lead to failed expectation. Those outside of us can never understand us as well as we can understand ourselves. The answers are within us.

It was probably as I came to integrate the idea of personal responsibility for my own circumstance that I was able to climb out of depression. I heard it said today that the bad news of personal responsibility is that we are the cause of our own tragedy. The good news of personal responsibility is that we are the agent of change to lift ourselves out of tragedy.

Sort:  

It just amazes me, how prominent it has become in society -- and continues to grow!

Yes. Perhaps it could be a symptom of fragmentation in society. I was facing some isolation during my depression. The internet has been both a boon and curse with regards to isolation.

I could also attribute some of my own success in overcoming depression to a relationship in which a helping hand was given by someone who cared. Probably more importantly it was someone who cared, who I had sufficient attraction towards, to motivate me to rise above my circumstance.

We've never had more ways to stay connected.., and yet we are still (like you said) fragmented and isolated... Glad you had someone in your corner, that cared. Cheers to that!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58447.77
ETH 3173.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43