Introducing the Verdigris Ensemble - The non-profit professional choir I have been terrified to share with the world

in #life7 years ago

Now its time to put my money where my mouth is and show you what we have tirelessly been working on the past few months. A great conclusion to our previous blog posts. Here was our first blog about Verdigris:

https://steemit.com/life/@sbrukh/i-am-starting-a-non-profit-choral-organization-and-i-want-to-tell-you-how-terrified-i-feel-sharing-my-passion-with-the-world

Amazing to see the progression in 6 months!

Sort:  

Awesome stuff. You have a great road ahead of you. Do you chant psalms? There are some beautiful antiphons from the Church that have been lost to modern liturgical... ahem. sensibilities... hahaha
I wish there was talent like this in my small neck of the woods. You are very lucky.

Hahaha! Yes we do chant psalms. Which ones are you favorite? Maybe we could record a few and send it along!

Thanks for your support.

I'm working thru the Lumen Christi series by Adam Bartlett. Brilliant stuff, making chant accessible for once. People have just never TRIED the stuff, and they say it is impossible. Far from it. The traditional psalm tones in harmony are just.... haunting. I'm gonna start recording some of them myself, multitracking it. They need more exposure.

Please make sure to send me recordings if you do record some stuff. Chant is very difficult with a choir, but singing it on your own is pretty doable. I love performing chant in live acoustical spaces because the natural dissonances and harmonies really shine from the reverberation.

Definitely check out James Jordan's "Discovering Chant." Lots of really good guidelines on chant singing. Also, you should take a look at the Liber Usualis.

I'll be following you and your group closely. I'm glad I stumbled across you yesterday!
Will check out both. I've glanced at the LU, which I got from Corpus Christi Watershed, but never really studied it... The Lumen Christi Simple Gradual is really nice... like 10 mass settings. Using chant as functional music forces us to concentrate on English for the moment, and Bartlett's series is such a great doorway into the whole chant/polyphony world.

Thanks! Just followed you back.

Good introducing pictures for steemit users. @naz722

good blog brother

This is awesome! Keep up the good work!

This is great!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72