I am Starting a Non-Profit Choral Organization and I want to tell you how terrified I feel sharing my passion with the world.

in #life8 years ago

I keep a Burger King job application on the side of my piano. It's been laying there for about 2 years now and I use it to remind myself that I don't have to do this. I don't have to go through 16 hour days teaching high school choir to some students that don't know any better than to pull out knives on each other to resolve their issues. I don't have to go through sacrificing my Wednesday evenings and Sundays in order to sing 3 services in a very high-pressure music program at a church downtown. I don't have to go through the almost masochistic schedule of teaching and singing choral music. But I do, and I just packed my schedule even more by starting a non-profit choral organization.

I want you to know why choral music is important to me. I want you to FEEL what I feel when I listen to good choral music. Listen to this:

I can't tangibly explain what goes on in my head when I listen to this. Its devoid of technical analysis and full of inward reflection.; I find lots of mental freedom in that kind of world away from reality. I feel like I'm eating the world's finest, thickest, ice cream. The kind that I want to savor in my mouth forever. The soundscape, The richness of vocal tone, the focus of the choir, the musicality, the instruments. This music evokes something in my body that makes me feel focused, inspired, and ready. Ready for the many different curveballs that the world throws. Ready to chase my dreams of being a professional conductor of a non-profit organization.

It was a terrifying experience handing over a check in the amount of $600 to incorporate and apply for non-profit status of a company I barely have a name for. I took a risk. I did it because I want to make a difference in this world. I want to make people feel what I feel when I hear choral music.

I am an artist. I am pushing the boundaries of my art. It just so happens that the medium is choral music.

More updates on the non-profit coming soon!

Sort:  

"Follow Your Dreams And The Universe Will Open Doors For You Where There Were Only Walls."

Really looking forward to hearing your story. This is an encouraging story for many.

Hi eroche. Thanks for your encouragement. If I may ask, what would you like to see/read more of?

I'd love to hear about your journey, how your non profit goes. I think steemit is a great place to chronicle it, and to inspire other people to do the same. And to raise awareness about your cause.

Good luck!! And, good for you for following your passion!

Wow dude.

I hadn't heard of this genre before this post.

Thank you for following your dreams. Most give up.

Which is the worst thing you can do.

remember: continuous failure = inevitable success.

Video didn't show so I thought I should post it here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67714.75
ETH 2616.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69