Love and hate relationship: JobssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life6 years ago

When I am not trolling steemit.chat or posting my art and weird stories on steemit.com I am working every day as an HVAC technician (Heating Ventilation Air Conditioning). Here in Washington it is busy season right before holidays, when the first cold snaps come in. Everybody calls in because their furnaces, and fireplaces are not working and its my job to go fix them. This makes for long days, and strenuous work, but it can be pretty rewarding when you are able to quite literally save the day for people, making their home livable again.

hvac.jpg

LOVE

Often times a trade job like this is not rewarded well, and the turnover for most companies is constant. I have to say I have been very blessed to be part of the company I am. I knew the general manager from a previous job, and got the job without any prior experience. They took me on, trained me in a trade, and gave me a chance. That alone is unheard of.

HATE

The issues I deal with on a daily basis are constant. As a service technician we fix things, not only the equipment, but we fix junk that the install team messed up. We fix the offices mistakes with routing, with misquoting, giving customer wrong information. We fix our own problems, and everyone else's problems. Often that burden is extremely frustrating.

23718454_1947177032272036_1717701890_n.jpg

LOVE

Last year through hard work, and meeting my goals I was able to earn a trip for my wife and I. We had never been out of the country before and it was a pretty awesome vacation. Not since we had kids have my wife and I been able to be away from them for days, and been able to truly relax. The hotel and airfare were totally paid by my company, again, for a small trade job. This is unheard of.

cabo.jpg

HATE

Feast and famine is too real sometimes in trade jobs. One season you can be slammed busy, and some you are barely working enough to put food on the table. Luckily, that is offset a bit since we do heating and cooling equipment, but sometimes there is still a month or two in between seasons where it can get really slow.

LOVE

Places like Google, Microsoft, Amazon are all known for their super cool perks that just put them over the top. Within the last few months our general manager (the guy who got me the job) has been adding perks for us that nobody else would. The first was a vending machine in our office, but there's a twist! There are no prices on anything. You just press a button and you can have whatever you want, it has been extremely welcome when I need a quick snack in the middle of the day. Next he brought in his personal arcade machine to the office for after meetings, or after work. I haven't been able to play it much, but it is super fun to have there.

And the inspiration for this post today was that I got a 10% raise today! It was pretty awesome, but I also had a 12 hour day with some ridiculously frustrating routing. The definition of a bittersweet day for sure. As you can see I have more things I love about my job than I hate, and I know I could find much more to add to this list for both. This is the first time I have felt so happy with a company, and I encourage you to evaluate your position.

Is it time for you to move on?
or
Is it time for you to push forward and advance where you are?

b3.png

I am thinking of doing some HVAC tutorials, and posting them here. This is very different from my typical content. Should I make an alt account, or do it under this one?

Sort:  

Very frustrating you are.
But, yesterday is weekend.
So, hope you have time to love, not to hate.
:)

I've been working in the same warehouse for the past 11 years and have tried to advance multiple times but have been shot down because of politics and the bosses would rather hire their buddies who started three months ago versus me whose had like a decade worth of experience. So needless to say I think it's about time for me to move on. XD Which I'm hoping to do in the summer when I take my kiddo and move to America! So I can go to school. Lol. Also it sounds like you have an awesome job. And HVAC tutorials sound like a great idea for simple jobs that people can do themselves if they can't afford a professional to do it for them.

Yeah that is frustrating. Trade jobs, especially in America are ripe for the taking, because people think lowly of them when in fact... a few years, most of the trade workers will be retiring, and they will be in EXTREMELY high demand.

You should be writing more if you asked me... We all have different flow of words and it's always a joy to read someone else :)

Tutorials should be done here but with a special tag to them. I think another account means too much work. I too wanted a second account (travel and food) but I am thinking not to do it. Too much pressure!

More vacations to you and your love :)

Congrats on the raise! Do the HVAC tutorials under this same account. Another account is one too many to handle imo..

Fair enough! I just wanna make sure that I appease the audience I already have haha. Art/goofy stories/dad life/ technical stuff it is!!

This one, with a special tag!

I hear three years is a good amount of time before it's time to move. Haven't really had too much time to ponder this topic myself though. Maybe steem will make this all irrelevant though ;)

I love your writing! Thank you for bringing us into your world. You’ve done it so perfectly.

congratulations on the raise @saywha! you deserve it! regarding you making some HVAC tutorials, i think its much better if you use the same account as making another one is basically like starting all over again and you have to grow your followers list again. just my opinion by the way bro.

This post has received a 0.73 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @trumpman. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Sometimes work is stressful but it is also very rewarding :) glad to know everything is going fine

whoa I completely feel you on this. My son-in-law does HVAC and having him in the family always gets us moved to the top of his list but I also fully understand exactly what you are talking about as he is laid off 3 months of the year normally.
Our ductless unit has been out of commission for the last 2 weeks and I have refused to call him yet as I know he will stop earning to come here to work on ours. He works for a second company at night and it's just him and one other guy and they both make more in 3 hours a night than 8 to 15 hours per day working for the largest East coast Company for 500 miles.
Heat and air can be life and death on certain days and I really don't feel that guys in your profession are respected enough or treated that great so kudo's to your boss for doing something above and beyond. You're lucky to have landed that job.

Dude ductless units are insane. So fine tuned. I am not even close to understanding them

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05