Why We All Hate Mondays

in #life7 years ago

0.jpg

Monday. The single most hated day of the week. A day, the mention of which alone, is enough to make you feel sick in the gut. A day which was most probably designed by sadistic people.

Anyways. Does it ever happen to you where, it’s the weekend and you are either relaxing or having fun with family or friends and suddenly you have this realisation that you have to wake up early the next morning to show up at work because it’s a freaking Monday?

Well, that is sure to bring your mood down and you literally start counting down the number of hours of the weekend that are left and how you will have to go to bed ‘on time’ even though your heart wants to do all these other crazy things!!

So, there’s no doubt about the intensity of humanity’s collective hatred for Monday. But why is it that we feel so strongly about it? I mean we know what we feel but do we know why we feel it? Let me tell you exactly why!

1. It’s A Break From Fun

1.jpg

Monday happens immediately after the weekend. When you get off work on Friday, you have two days of fun, relaxation and not working, to look forward to.

Then you spend the weekend doing things you love the most. Depending on who you are and what your idea of a perfect weekend is, you could spend the days in a million ways.

Some of you go out into nature and have a pleasant time, some of you go to the club to dance all night and some of you spend quiet weekends all by yourself in the peace and sanctity of your own presence!

But Mondays represent a break from all that. It is a start of the week and that could only mean one thing. Work. Now, I know a lot of people love what they do and actually look forward to it, but there are a whole lot who don’t. Hence the gloom.

2. Difficulty Waking Up

Let’s face it. Our sleep patterns are screwed over the weekend as we stay up later than usual and wake up later than usual. Or at least that’s what most of us normal people do. I kid!

Anyways, this disrupts our natural rhythm and no matter how much determination you have, you will most likely find it difficult to wake up at the usual time again.

Even if you do, you will feel groggy and sleepy and uncomfortable and a general dislike for life itself. Also, if you spent your Sunday drinking, you will also have a hangover which will make matters even worse.

And you know what the worst part is? Despite all of this, you will have to dress up, get to work on time and look normal or face the wrath of the boss!

3. Anticipation of Next Weekend

3.jpg

There is a psychological reason why weekends are loved and Mondays are hated. For the weekends to come, you have to go through 5 weekdays but for Monday to come, you only get to go through 2 weekend days.

So, as you are there, working at your desk, you keep thinking how the weekends are still 5 days away and that will just intensify the feeling of being stuck.

Also, you will remember all the nice and fun stuff you did during the weekends and that will make you want to do all of that again and very soon. But guess what, you have to wait 5 more days.

When things happen opposite to what you want, hatred towards the reason is a very natural human response. In this case, it is the hatred towards Monday.

4. The Company

4.jpg

Now, this might not apply to all of you or apply only to an extent. The thing is, during the weekends, you are with the really important people in your life. Be it your family or close friends.

You spend this time having fun and in their presence you can really be yourself and feel totally relaxed. You can share whatever you want to and listen to what they have to say because you actually care.

Come Monday, you have to again spend most of your time with your co-workers. Now, not everyone has irritating co-workers but a lot of people do. Knowing that you will have to be in their presence again can be such a huge turn off.

Basically, you don’t have those special people to look forward to and actually the people around you are the ones you compete with for promotions, or other stuff. The blame though, lands on Monday.

Sort:  

I started it perfectly I think : had my alarm at 8, of course had problems to hear it (cuz hey, Monday ya know) got up super late, like one hour after.
Thanks. From a Monday hater

I find it hard to sleep on Sunday nights, I don't know if it is just me or is there something inside that makes us dread Mondays? Couldn't sleep until 2 am last night :( :( ughhhh today was rough to say the least. 1 coffee + energy drink + 2 diet sodas + 1 large diet soda from Burger King later, still tired lol...

I had always my alarm at 6 and i start with some exercise and then my daily routine of my business and job

It is sad that we only live for the weekends. So our life goes by....

That is deep on so many levels!!!

Hello, please read my POST please.

I Love my Mondays, its my Saturday, my weekend is Monday and Tuesday

Ok that makes sense :D

Don't forget about Tuesday through Sunday, i hate those too!

WHAT THE FUCK IS THIS? I make a joke, someone replies with a sentence that doesn't even make sense and gets 19 votes in 2 minutes and i still have 0? I'm officially lost.

atleast u got money on this comment. hahahahahahahahahahahaaa.........

Personally I love lasagna, Much more then Mondays ;)

But we are talking about stuff that we hate! :P

Haha literally 😂 But it's a love & hate relationship. My schedule so off that Monday is like "my Friday". So I've got Teusday & Wednesday off, lol but I still don't wanna go up for it. ^_^ Thanks for sharing!

haha really messes with you, doesn't it. LOL.

Thanks for reading :)

For sure 😂 Hah thanks again for sharing!

hahahha....Monday is great day for me.....upvote and resteem for Monday....

think +ve....all of us need to face "Monday".....hahahaha....

Do what you love and you will look forward to Mondays!

yes, that's the case with a lot of people. None that I know, but still lots :D

Its summer vacation for me so im all good :) . I have 78 days until my break from fun! (Unless I decide to get a summer job)

Not all hate mondays. I love mondays, because tommorow tuesday and sunday was yesterday .

Yep, definitely there are people who love Mondays.

1 in a million people love mondays. Guess you're that 1.

haha definitely 1 in a million. But that kinda makes you special though!! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34