The 3 People You Absolutely Need To Succeed In Life

in #life7 years ago

0.jpg

Success means different things to different people. For some, success means earning a lot of money, for some success means being famous, for some others it might mean mastering an art or a talent.

No matter what your definition of success, one thing is clear. The road to success is paved with obstacles, thorns, mazes and it will test you at every corner. But when you do make it to the other, you will come out a polished individual, a force to be reckoned with.

If you have even a vague idea about what you want from life, chances are, you are already walking on that road to success. Yes, it might get difficult at times, but if you put your heart into it, you will get there.

I am reminded of the speech Matthew McConaughey delivered when he won the Oscar for best actor in 2014. From that speech, I took away that there are 3 people you need to succeed in life, or at least make the path smoother.

Someone To Look Up To

1.jpg

Just a few days ago, I had written a post about the importance of role models. Having someone in life that you look up to can really change how you go about your own life.

The life of your role model, then, becomes a great influencer on you and the way you tackle the many obstacles in your way to success because you will be inspired by how they did the same.

As I had mentioned in my post, for me it is Steve Jobs. As you will see in the video down below, for Matthew McConaughey, it is god. It can be virtually anyone, as long as you have respect for that someone in your heart and you take it upon yourself to learn from them and their lives and implement it into your life.

Someone To Look Forward To

2.jpg

We all have this quest to become someone and to achieve something in life. But life is not just about this quest. There are people close to you that you really love and who love you too. They form a whole other sphere in your life.

I am talking about your family and friends. Everyday, it is these people, their faces, their smiles and their encouragement that helps you bit by bit to keep moving towards your goal.

It is exactly these people who you want to make proud of you and need the support of to reach that pinnacle of success. These are the people you look forward to every single day of your life because frankly, a success you cannot share, is a success not worth having.

Someone To Chase

3.jpg

Often when we talk about success, we think of this place or thing that is too distant into the future and that can result in you slacking and not performing at your best even though you have the potential.

Having someone to chase, gives you that kick and keeps you on the edge to keep moving forward by creating a sense of urgency. Matthew McConaughey absolutely nails it in this case.

He says that for him, the “someone to chase” or “hero” is himself in 10 years. So no matter how hard he works, he will never be able to catch his future self because he will be 10 years ahead of him. This will keep him chasing every single day of life and that, will lead to newer heights and unparalleled success.

Here is the video and I implore you to watch it:

Sort:  

Well, on steemit, I look upto you as someone to chase to. As you are already a lot ahead of me, and still growing a lot, I will not be able to get ahead of you easily, So in chasing you, I will improve a lot.


And I loved this video the first time I watched it, and I thought of experimenting it on myself also, to chase the person I would be a few years ahead. But with time, I got confused what I really want to be after a few years. So I gave it up.
Loved your post. Always teaching something good.

I think you will catch me very soon :D

Yeah, the future can get really confusing and you almost always don't know where you are going to end up, but believing that your future self will be a better version of yourself is motivation enough :)

I think you will catch me very soon :D

I have read just till here, no more words matter to me now.

You need yourself most of all. If one doesn't find himself inside this world he can't be able to find others and let the others find him. Once a person achieves the level of inner integrity, life becomes a playground of ideas, success and love. :) Good article, upvote.

This is a very solid and nicely formulated comment! I was about to write a similar thing, but you nailed it ;)

Thanks for that wonderful comment. I agree :)

This is inspirational, thank you so much!

Thank you so much for reading!! :)

I don't agree everyone has their own way

It's ok to not agree with someone. Everyone is entitled to their own opinion. Cheers! :)

Great Post. Yes we need good mentors who will take the time to build and shape us. The chase it also important as it gives you a reason to strive and live. Friends and family are important too. The video underlines that message and gives acknowledgement to God as well. Well done. Thanks for sharing. I will share a post of a small mile stone on Steemit. Hope you like it. Troy

https://steemit.com/life/@enjoywithtroy/thanks-steemit-followers-for-the-100-plus-milestone-new-followers-always-welcome

Thank you for taking the time to read and comment. Gave you an upvote on that one.

indeed....upvote and resteem for your post

you are welcome...my friend

Very helpful advice. Picked me right up :)

I am glad it was of any help :)

This is a best Motivation , inspiration
Amazing post

I am inspired by this post! These are thoughts I will not forget.

Hey, thank you so much! I am glad I was able to inspire an already inspiring person :)

Nice One @sauravrungta. But what if you don't have supportive family?

Thank you. Well, if you don't have supportive family, you find someone else to look forward to everyday.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66269.58
ETH 3204.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.24