Navigating Grief and Loss: Coping with Life's Transitions and Finding Meaning

in #life2 years ago

Life's transitions often bring grief and pain, but these experiences are meant to improve us.

In this post, I'm going to talk about how to navigate grief and loss. It's an important topic for anyone trying to understand the impact of life's changes, but especially for authors, creative types, and other service-based professionals who experience life's transitions all the time.


Here's what I mean by that: every writer goes through multiple stages of transition over the course of their career. At one time, we're looking for an agent or editor. Later, we're doing our own editing and self-publishing. Then we get to the point where we're so established that we're now doing the actual writing. After a while, we might transition back to another industry entirely, like social media management or copywriting. Even once we've reached that stage, we still face the same fears we had when we were looking to build our publishing empire.

When we think about transitions, it's easy to feel worried and nervous about what's coming next. We're afraid of what happens if we don't get the book deal we want or if we get rejected from the editors we were hoping for. We don't know how to react when we get rejected. Sometimes, we even worry about getting our first break and not being ready for success. These fears are natural when we're facing these transitions, but that's why it's important to learn to cope with them.

We often don't learn how to handle grief until the loss has already happened. It feels like we're living in some kind of limbo state. We keep hoping things will change, but instead of getting better, we just get worse. When we think about grief and loss, it's important to acknowledge how common it is for people to experience grief and loss during the course of their lives.

In order to manage grief and loss, we need to become more resilient. Resilient people don't panic in situations that threaten them. They look at those threats and learn to adapt to new circumstances. They don't sit around feeling sorry for themselves, because they know they're stronger than that. They embrace challenges and take charge of the situation.

It's hard to embrace challenges and not be defined by your losses. That's why it's important to accept grief and loss, but not let it define you. For instance, when I lost my first job as a writer, I felt devastated. That was probably the first time I was actually unemployed, and it was pretty scary.

At the time, I wasn't making any money writing, but I also didn't have much in my savings. I knew I needed a job, but I was terrified I'd never find one again. In my head, I thought, "Maybe this isn't going to happen."

So I spent the next few months panicking. I cried often and was filled with anxiety.

But after a couple of months of struggling, I had an epiphany. I realized that

Sort:  

@tipu curate 2

;) Holisss...

--
This is a manual curation from the @tipU Curation Project.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 63989.15
ETH 2749.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66