Take Risks, Be Vulnerable.

in #life6 years ago (edited)

put urself outthere.png

Many people go around saying take risks, take risks. I was not really able to understand what it really means when people say ” take risks” because it just sounds very daunting, until a good friend shared with me a ted talk by Brene Brown.

Please watch : https://www.ted.com/talks/brene_brown_on_vulnerability

To take risks, first we need to allow ourselves to be vulnerable. It is actually being willing to invest or do something where there are no guarantees. Putting yourself out there, making the first move to allow yourself to be rejected (or not), invest your time to do something that may or may not work out in the end (like a relationship, or a hobby turn into a business).

It is only then i realized that first I must let myself be vulnerable again, to allow myself to be able to take risks. No one told me that after starting a business and running a business, and possibly closing the business or bring the business into a new level – that I have to let myself be vulnerable, to let myself be potentially rejected, to let myself take risks. And to do this over again and again and again.

Well, here I am, learning how to be vulnerable again. Putting myself out there.

As every business, there are ups and downs. There are times where you need to ask for help, times when you perhaps give up, times where you feel the need to bare yourself.

I reached out to couple of people over last week via email, via LinkedIn and I felt quite nervous thinking if they would reply, or not. I wondered if they thought i was annoying or irritating or even desperate. However, after watching this talk, I realized that it does not matter if they reply or not, and it does not matter what they think of me. It only matters that I took a chance and put myself out there. It gave me confidence to reach out to more people now and to take a chance in something that has no guarantees.

It is hard but I think it is essential for me to grow and go into the next level.

Same as it is for you, I hope you would let yourself be vulnerable, whether it is taking a step into a new career, picking up a new hobby, change and shake up your daily routine by doing something different today, or just going out for a meal with someone new - in hopes of finding something beautiful, we always need to take a leap.

Perhaps, there is a new found relationship or friendship forged after the meal, without putting the pressure on yourself that there must be a tangible outcome before you would do it.

It is letting yourself be vulnerable again, and it will lead you to something beautiful...

Most of the time.

Sort:  

@sarahfied, I gave you an upvote on your first post! Please give me a follow and I will give you a follow in return!

Please also take a moment to read this post regarding bad behavior on Steemit.

Congratulations @sarahfied! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56208.10
ETH 2476.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26