Seeing the world differently

in #life6 years ago

jannes-glas-416036-unsplash.jpg

Sometimes people find it odd that I don't see things the same way as they do. Sometimes this is in a more 'trippy' metaphysical sense - but not so much as I don't end up in many discussions over the ultimate shape of reality. Where it really stands out is in discussion of values, and how my perception of what's going on in the world differs from that of other people.

Not that it matters where this came from, but I've been like this for a long time. I can recount the first time it became really obvious to me that that I didn't see things the same way as my peers.

When I was in Year 11, at 16, my parents decided to take the whole family on a backpacking holiday around Indonesia. So there's my a parents in their 40s, me, and my two sisters, aged 12 and 6. I'm not going to recall the whole journey (though it contains many potential anecdotes). Rather, there's one event, and my interpretation of it, that stands out in my mind.

Early on in our trip, we were staying in Denpasar. As we'd never been abroad before, my parents booked a van and a tour guide to take us around Bali for a day to get a feel for the place. The van was unremarkable, though I was impressed with our driver's ability to negotiate the traffic. What really stood out to me was our guide, Made. I still don't know much about him, and given that almost every second-born child on Bali is called Made, I can't imagine that I'll ever track him down. Anyway, I was struck by how well-presented and articulate he was. Perfectly pressed & ironed shirt and pants. Shiny shoes. He had a great knowledge of the island and its history. His English was probably better than mine at the time, and on top of that he spoke pretty good Japanese (as well as native Balinese and Bahasa Indonesian). He struck me as being both intelligent and hard-working.

About halfway around the island, in the north near the black sand beaches, he asked us if we could stop in at his home village. I'd assumed that he was from Denpasar. But as it turns out, he lived there for work and sent money back to his family. He explained to us that his wife had recently given birth to twin daughters, and that he wasn't seeing much of them at the moment. So Mum and Dad agreed to make the short detour.

I don't know what I expected. I knew that life in Indonesia was different to what I'd known in Australia, and that their currency was worth a lot less. But Made was so well-educated and professional and, dare I say it, just a little middle-class, I had been lulled into a false sense of security. So when we rolled into his village, I was in for a shock.

Most of the buildings were thatched huts with earth floors. There was one building with a concrete slab floor and a communal television. Not every building had running water, and they certainly wen't connected to the sewer. Made's daughters were only a few weeks old - tiny slightly frowny babies, kept off the ground at all times as is the Balinese tradition. It was a tropical paradise in many ways. But I had expected his home life to be a little more in line with what someone of similar talent and drive would have had in Australia.

We had fresh coconut water and it was all very touching, but soon enough we were on our way. Made didn't make a big deal about it, nonetheless my parents knew that the Hindu ceremonies that children go through were not cheap. So, Dad insisted Made take a bit of extra cash, which he found deeply embarrassing, but took all the same.

We continued on our journey, and that's a tale for another time.

Fast forward six weeks later, and I was back at school talking to people about what I'd seen. I spoke to my English class about the experience of going to Made's village. My classmates, and my teacher, acted as if I'd blown their minds. Over the coming weeks and months, I realised that most people, including most people who had been to Bali, had never given a second thought to how people there lived. It never even occurred to them to ask how it was that someone like Made, who, if he was in Australia would have had a mortgage in a nice middle-class suburb, was going for weeks at a time without seeing his baby daughters, just to afford to live where they did.

The experience, and the cognitive disconnect I sensed in others, especially some other travellers, has stayed with me. What I didn't realise until recently is that the way I saw things was always different enough that I was primed to see something that I felt many other people had missed. On reflection, I wonder if this hadn't happened to me, would I still have the same attitudes I have now? I suspect I would, such were the values and sense of curiosity that my parents had instilled in me.

Either way, the experience, and watching people's reactions to it, were certainly formative in my life, and my sense of justice that occasionally causes me to rail against senseless greed and needless inequality.

Thanks for reading. As always, your support is deeply appreciated.

Photo by Jannes Glas on Unsplash

Sort:  

The first time I went to Mexico it was 15 years ago and it was to Cancun with my bf at the time and my mom and sisters were meeting us. We come from a lower middle class, I grew up in a trailer, so we had some vacations but not anything 'big' like that until i was an adult. I had been to Bahia maybe 6 years back and was expecting to see 'another country' like I did on my first trip abroad. While we were on the shuttle to the hotel (we were staying in a smaller 'no name' one) I watched out the window excitedly. As we came up and it was a Hilton, a Marriott, Bubba Gumps etc, etc I actually started to cry. My bf asked me what the matter was and it was a small space and I could see everyone looking at me. I just said something like "we are ruining the whole world, we are turning it all into Palm Springs or Vegas" and tried not to cry and ruin everyone's excited. I feel really quite lonely in my view of the world, I can enjoy almost anybody's company, and deeply enjoy the world, yet I am exacerbated by the fact that very very few people seem to notice or be effected by things that are glaring and uncomfortable to me. Its almost like I'm being gaslighted all of the time lol Like the things I see are not actually there because people think its such a weird view.

I really enjoyed reading this. I also wonder about this a lot, about why people see things differently and why that is so. I will try not to open a discussion on the shape of reality, but that is of course what we are talking about.
I do have one question. This is a lovely example about one way in which you both make clear what you mean with 'world' and how it made you reflect on what is real for people. But do you really think you see things differently? Always differently? Don't you also have your own 'reality' / 'world' which is limited in your own way?
I think the answer to this must be yes, as you are human (an assumptions, I know). And the real question here is... how do you find out about the limits to your understanding of reality and how do you or can you break away from from?

I'm glad you enjoyed it.
It is a good question about what sense in which I mean 'world'. In one sense, of course I will perceived things differently. On the other, I assume there is a sense in which the poverty I observed is independent of me observing it - hence my confusion at other people being seemingly unable to see it. Perhaps they just deluded themselves into missing it.

As to the limits of my understanding of reality, that all depends on what the limiting factor is. Sometimes I can see in retrospect that my emotions or how I have been psychologically primed have altered my perceptions. Sometimes I experience the informational equivalent of staring at the sun - too much to to process at once. Thirdly, there are experiences for which I have no words, possibly because their nature breaks the normal causal relationship between words and referents. (I suspect the last two are related.)

Experiences of altered consciousness seem to stretch at these boundaries. But so does quiet mindfulness and reflection upon everyday activities and interactions.

On a related note, I'm currently trying to get my head around standpoint theory, as it's at the core of a book I'm currently reading :The Eugenic Mind. My initial feeling is this approach would have something interesting to say about my experience.

Extremely interesting story and views, thanks so much for sharing! I've always been wondering about similar questions / experiences, and I might say it even gets worse and worse - it seems to me that there are not many people really thinking about basic questions, at least not in so-called western societies (which are the ones I live in and experience). This includes thinking about the meaning of "poverty" or - seen from a different angle - what really is essential to live. Here in Germany it seems that freedom, the liberty of being able to use a fair amount of your time for whatever you like and not having to fear for your basic needs like a warm place to stay and food and water has become completely "worthless" to many, and I've experienced myself that people consider themselves poor because they can't afford a second (!) TV for the bedroom. I would really like to send more people to as many different societies and countries as possible, because I've always sensed that a lack of "different" input and views is really a huge problem. As far as I am concerned, I guess I do indeed have a very different view because of where I come from, or rather my parents and grandparents came from. After WWII, they all had to start over with nothing (they had been quite well off before, all being farmers with their own land), and having a house (with about 100 square meters for 6 people, and of course a huge mortgage) was luxury. It was luxury in my view, too, until I learned that practically everybody else in secondary school had even "richer" (grand)parents. But what stuck with me until today is the question: What does one really need? My grandparents didn't have a landline until the mid-1980s, and they didn't have a car, and having a TV was a big deal. All this had a huge influence on me, I believe, among many other things. It doesn't mean there are no problems in "developed" countries, but people seem to focus on consumerism and if they are able to buy this and that instead of what I consider to be much more important, e.g. being free, being able to do things that are useful, helpful, thoughtful. Although I totally agree that it is of course possible to gain knowledge if you want to without traveling the world or having friends or family as "examples", I still think it makes a huge difference.

Differing opinion is so essential to creation. If everyone saw things the very same way, we would never move forward. Differing ways of looking at things should be celebrated. But then resistance may be a litmus test to an ideas utility. Those ideas that weather contrary views may prove the best ideas ... maybe ... these are the thoughts that occurred to me while reading your post.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by SamD (at samueldouglas) from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Awesome! Nice post samueldouglas


Good job on the dashboard!

I love when people can organize data in a visually pleasing manner. Keep it up!


Check my article about 《Steem 指南》基础常识篇——关注、拉黑、点赞、踩灰(4)

My best post here  《Steem 指南》基础常识篇——关注、拉黑、点赞、踩灰(4)

I will follow you samueldouglas

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61414.81
ETH 2984.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46