You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Seeing the world differently

in #life6 years ago

I'm glad you enjoyed it.
It is a good question about what sense in which I mean 'world'. In one sense, of course I will perceived things differently. On the other, I assume there is a sense in which the poverty I observed is independent of me observing it - hence my confusion at other people being seemingly unable to see it. Perhaps they just deluded themselves into missing it.

As to the limits of my understanding of reality, that all depends on what the limiting factor is. Sometimes I can see in retrospect that my emotions or how I have been psychologically primed have altered my perceptions. Sometimes I experience the informational equivalent of staring at the sun - too much to to process at once. Thirdly, there are experiences for which I have no words, possibly because their nature breaks the normal causal relationship between words and referents. (I suspect the last two are related.)

Experiences of altered consciousness seem to stretch at these boundaries. But so does quiet mindfulness and reflection upon everyday activities and interactions.

On a related note, I'm currently trying to get my head around standpoint theory, as it's at the core of a book I'm currently reading :The Eugenic Mind. My initial feeling is this approach would have something interesting to say about my experience.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61814.34
ETH 2979.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48