The small story about Tiger Woods (lesson on dealing with setbacks)

in #life6 years ago


There is this story about Tiger Woods - and gosh I'm not even sure if it is true or not. "Screw it," I thought, I share it anyways. Because it inspired me, and sometimes stories are just nice to listen too... :)

SO... When Tiger Woods, one of the - if not THE - greatest golf-player of all times, was already winning and rising as a star, he decided to change his coach.

Why? Because he noticed to have arrived at a plateau. He wanted to get better, mentally stronger, develop his skills - and for that he decided to shake things up.

The new coach taught him a different technique to hit the ball. They trained differently and Tiger started losing - or better; stopped winning.

That went on for months and the press already titled him to be a lost star. A wiped out fire. A wonder of the moment.

Yet after a few months, the new training gradually grabbed hold in his development. He improved - fast.

And before he knew, he was at the top again. Better, stronger than ever before and seemingly invincible.

I heard this story a couple years ago. I'm not a golfer. Neither am I absolutely sure about the details of the story. Yet what stuck with me was a recognition which I often observe in my life too...

Sometimes, when we want to improve and learn something new, often we have to take a step back. In order to make two or three steps forward.

I'm not even entirely sure if the story is true or not; but it somehow popped up today and often the believe alone helps me to be okay with "setbacks". And when I'm okay with them, I may be able to focus a bit more on what matters.

Wishing you a great rest of the week.

Sam



This post is originally published on my blog: samryter.com/blog
I, Sam Ryter (@sams-world) am the author and creator of this piece of content.
(Copyright @sams-world, samryter.com)

Thank you for reading :)


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://samryter.com/the-small-story-about-tiger-woods/

Sort:  

Congratulations @sams-world! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16