You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Release Addictions before it's too late

in #life6 years ago

For about 5 to 7 years i got into football gambling, i would say it started out of peer pressure influence when i got into the university. It all started with me predicting games for my friend, he won almost all the time with the games i predicted for him. One day i said to myself, why not play them yourself too? That was the beginning of something i would struggle to control later on...

Initially, it felt like it was all fun and pleasure. I would quit intermittently in the early stages but after sometimes especially when i get some money i jump on the bandwagon again. I would convince myself that as a football lover, betting is another way of enjoying the sports even more...well until last year when i lost so much money and then i started seeking for help, i knew i had to quit before my mom gets to know about all that lost money, yes it was my money but it was kinda huge at my level...

Fortunately a lot of programs and help centers are available to aid but the biggest part is from your side which is the acceptance and understanding that the help is required.

I had gotten to this stage of self realisation, understanding that i had a problem now and the earlier i stop it the better for me, my family and most importantly my future.

I had to take the decision, it was hard, looking back at how much i had lost over the years, quitting at that point without fighting to win back all those money felt like a stupid idea but i knew that voice, that is exactly the same voice that had brought me back into this addiction all these years, it was the same voice who advised me to pay for fixed games and lead me into scammers that increased my loss and misery, but i was not gonna give in this time. In December 2017, i took the bold step and made the ultimate decision...it was hard but in less than two months it was all gone.

Self realisation and the willingness to quit, finding an ideal positive replacement (discovering steemit in my case) are all very important steps in breaking free from addictions. I had to convince myself all over again that there is never an easy route to success and money making...today i am a happy guy, helping to encourage others to quit sports betting addictions by telling them my story with the hope to make an impact in people's lives.

Thanks for sharing this article, i found it all thanks to #map.

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing your story @samirich. I am so glad that you could break the chains and get out yourself to freedom. I know it's extremely difficult to get out of an addiction but it is not impossible. You will be kept pulling into it again and again but if you have a strong determination and will power you will overcome. Vices are easy pleasure deals and hence we always find them very lucrative. You have been very bold and I must say your story is an inspiration for many who are stuck and not able to free themselves.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57743.27
ETH 3083.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42