You need these kitchen hacks to save your time, not quick recipes!

in #life6 years ago

Spending time in the kitchen, enjoying cooking, trying a number of dishes and making fresh meals all three times of the day don’t necessarily make you a kitchen savvy person. I used to think that kitchen is all about cooking and eating. It is majorly about that but there is a whole different world of kitchen hacks out there that are so simple and will make you think, “Why didn’t I know about this earlier!?” Being responsible for the kitchen in your house, you must be aware of how there are these little things that you have to take care of, that might be sensitive to the environment or that might be too much of time taking. Not everybody has the time to stand in the kitchen for long hours and spend the most productive time of the day there. There is no harm in wanting to cook good food but there is definitely harm in wasting your time doing things that could’ve taken less time than the time you took doing it. I have started following some of the hacks that have made my life in the kitchen much easier along with saving up my time to handle other home chores after cooking! Here are the ones I find most useful:

1.jpg

Grating Cheese made easier
Do you happen to be a cheese lover? Do you develop a craving for cheesy pasta every once in a while? Well, then chances are that you have big blocks of cheese coming to your home in grocery very often. Grating cheese can be a long and boring task. However, to make the process quick, you can freeze the blocks of cheese for about fifteen to twenty minutes and then start grating it. It will be less messy and much faster to handle the frozen block.

2.jpg

cutting onion without having to shed tears
So this is something I hate doing! In fact, I hate doing it so much that if I have to, I can even skip eating it just so I don’t have to do it! That’s right, I'm talking about chopping and cutting an onion. I think my eyes are super sensitive to the fumes it gives out and I don’t only have water running down your eyes but they also turn red and I can feel the effect for much longer than I should! To avoid getting fumes in your eyes, some people suggest that you can try chewing gum while cutting, some suggest you wear glasses. Glasses really help. However, another way is to put a slice of bread in your mouth in a way that some of it is sticking out. It would absorb the onion fumes before they go up t your eyes. It worked for me! It does look a little funny but does try and let me know if it worked for you too!

3.jpg

Opening jar lids with less effort
Most of the jar lids are made of metal and are hard to open when tightly closed. To save up your time and effort, you can simply pull out a rubber band and wrap it around the lid, try opening it with the rubber band. That would offer a little bit of extra friction and less effort would be needed to open the jar.

4.jpg

Storing food without messing up with plastic wrap
We all use plastic wraps to store our food and keep it fresh in the fridge for as long as we can. Sometimes, we also end up messing up with the cling wrap and wasting it in the end. One way to avoid that is to keep the plastic wrap in the fridge. This would make it easier to wrap it around your bowl and boxes to store your food for longer.

5.jpg

Separating Egg Yolk and egg white
One of the most fun ways to separate the egg yolk from its white is through a plastic bottle. I have to say that it took a few turns to actually get the trick right. However, once I got it right, it was the most satisfying thing to see! So crack your egg into a bowl and put the mouth of the bottle on the yolk while pressing it from sides. Once you let go of the sides, the bottle would suck up the egg yolk after re-inflating! Try it out, trust me there is no easier and more fun way to separate the egg white and yolk.

6.jpg

Peeling potatoes without a peeler!
Peeling potatoes can again be a bit of boring task. Sometimes you also end up peeling parts of potatoes with the skin. One very easy way of dealing with this is to boil the potatoes and then put it in ice cold water. Once you do that, it would be easier to peel the leftover skin with bare hands! Try it!

7.jpg
source

Sort:  

Great hacks @sameer777 .One of the hack you listed might be more challenging to pull off for me, I am talking about the onion hack, as a bread lover,it won't last 10 secs without ending up in my stomach.

I'm still really amazed how potatoes can be peeled easily. Good hacks!

Super hacks.... Thanks for the update

Wow thanks for your important information mainly in the egg yolk separator will serve me a lot to streamline the process of my cakes. I send you a big hug from Venezuela god bless you

Ha ha...These are some useful hacks for the kitchen. Thanks for share.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63643.10
ETH 2582.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75