You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sorry I Don't Want To

in #life6 years ago (edited)

I can totally relate. I think most of us can relate in this modern high tech world with information overload and endless possibilities. I also have days sometimes weeks or months where I want no obligations. I think it is my mind pushing back because of all the time I spend being "ON" and pushing back downtime. I can also relate to wanting to be a hermit. Actually that desire drove me to move out of the city and into a rural area, even some ways out of town. It helps a lot... but I hate to say the obligations don't go away... its different but they are still there to my neighbors, community, friends, myself... so I am working to redesign my mindset and my behaviors to adapt to what I feel is right for me. Hard work to go against the grain, but I know it is worth it!

Sort:  

Yes, I'm living pretty much a country life now myself. I'm in a neighborhood where every house has at least 1.25 acres, and also just bought in a neighborhood of minimal 5 acres, with many on more acreage than that. I think the more you go in that direction the more you're also surrounded by other people who also like to be to themselves more than most. That probably helps. But ultimately we hermit types have to learn to enjoy the obligations that create the community we really do want to support.

Congratulations on your new country home :) I don't know about you but being relatively new to the country I am still getting used to the slower pace of life where people are always open and ready to spend time talking, getting to know each other, catching up. I still feel like such a city person having all those "obligations" in the back of my mind all the time, moving fast, talking fast - in contrast to some of the old timer country folks :) Its such a learning experience. You are so right about the opportunity to choose to contribute to the community we want to support - good point! I am glad to be able to relate on the new lifestyle change. Looking forward to hearing more

Yes, I'm adapting to the slower pace still myself. Good observations on what that translates as. I don't know I'll ever get used to people stopping by though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62740.92
ETH 3354.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46