Ga Rouge Restaurant and Wine Cellar.

in #life6 years ago

Ga Rouge Restaurant and Wine Cellar.

IMG_7516.jpg
My wife received a voucher for R400.00 (approximately $30.00) to go and eat at Ga Rouge Restaurant and Wine Cellar, which is a rather expensive restaurant. So off we went to enjoy ourselves!! The restaurant is in an old farmhouse that was built in 1895. Below you can see my wife standing on the steps of the old farm house.
IMG_7514.jpg
Being a wine cellar the restaurant has a wine cellar with a entire wall lined with wine as the small section on the photo below shows. (Sorry about the bad quality of the photo) The cellar is temperature controlled, and instead of choosing your wine from a wine list, they take you into the cellar to choose your bottle of wine.
IMG_7488.jpg
We choose a 2016 Merlot from Alvi's Drift which is a family owned farm in the town of Worcester, South Africa. The wine is from their signature range.
IMG_7490.jpg
On the label you can see that this wine has a 13.5% alcohol content and goes well with various meat dishes.
IMG_7492.jpg
We thus immediately poured each of us, a nice glass of wine and ordered our starters!!
IMG_7489.jpg
My wife ordered some snails, which came looking vary fancy - yes there are some snails underneath all of that.
IMG_7496.jpg
I ordered some mussels, which came in this black cast iron pot.
IMG_7497.jpg
Below you can see the inside of the pot, just look how delicious those mussels look!!
IMG_7495.jpg
After the starters we moved to the mains, my wife ordered the lamb shank with veggies, which looked great!!
IMG_7503.jpg
I ordered a rib-eyed steak, which came hidden under a pile of leaves.
IMG_7504.jpg
While eating, we poured some more wine, the wine tasted good and all to soon the bottle was finished.
IMG_7501.jpg
The food also tasted great and vanished with a great speed. (I don't know what I did to the photo below, but it surely looks as if the food sped away.)
IMG_7511.jpg
We enjoyed our evening together very much, the dinner and wine was great. In the end the bill came to R800.00 , which was double the voucher's value, thus we got a great evening at half price!!

I hope you liked my posts as much as I enjoyed taking the photos!!

All photos were taken by my with my iPhone, at my parents home, in Pretoria, South-Africa.

Sort:  

@rynow,
Lots of delicious meals and wine on the table! Amazing experience and nice photography!

Cheers~

Wow... the wine looks good with the rib-eyed steak (It looks delicious and beautiful with the leaves. Not to forget, the last nice and unique picture taken by you is epic! haha...)

wow,my dear friend.. @rynow i am really appreciate to see your high thought quality post. this resturant really very good to see looks outside and your showing all delicious meals just awesome.this food to see very tasty and yammy..good selecting beer.its drink taste just cool.how sweet colour flavour. thank you for your great post..just say cheers and you enjoy your good day with nice beer..i am really to got your support my work.i hope that you everyday support my work and giving alots of encourage my steemit own work.hopefully,you stayed my sides alltime..very well done.. my dear friend.. @rynow take care yourself and best of luck of your great work..may god bless you and your wife.

Cheers, dear.Thanks for sharing it

a fun day for you and your wife, congratulations ...

wow how lucky is your wife ... A fun night I'm glad!

It was a great evening.

wow how lucky is your wife ... A fun night I'm glad!

Well description and tremendous photography. This time you selected wine for beer.

I'm glad you were able to enjoy and know a restaurant so expensive and with so much history, greetings!

Ga Rouge Restaurant is a oldest one and better wine store. Various wines here. These foods seems tasty. mmmm

It was really nice.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63178.17
ETH 2581.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71