You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Storing energy in thin air?

in #life6 years ago

Thanks for your input. Yes I agree - I think this technology is still a long way off being commercial-ready. The research referenced above seems to be aimed at the solution to your first 2 points. And they are doing this using a coating on the anode which they claim allows the lithium ions to pass through while blocking the compounds resulting from the reactions of non-oxygen elements in the air. But they are still at a ~500 cycle limit which needs serious improvement.

Sort:  

Out of curiosity, what is your background? I see from your bio that you are interested in a lot of the same things I am.

Education-wise it was electrical engineering & work-wise it's been telecommunications network design and renewable energy mostly. What about yourself?

Oh nice @rynergy! Education in ChemE and working in electrochem/materials science. I'll have to check out some of your other blogs. If you are interested I just started writing about batteries and I'd love your input!

OK followed. I will have a look. Cheers

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60238.27
ETH 3215.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46