The Homesteading, Needleworking, "Old School" Kind of Mom

in #life5 years ago (edited)

Back in the day, my mom would make me some walking shorts out of fabric scraps from her previous clients. I never really appreciated it before. While my friends flaunt their new apparel they bought from the malls, I sport a piece my mother has sewn for me. It looked funny because each side of the shorts would have different designs. She made it out of the left overs, so she needed to make do with what she had.

I wished back for my mom and dad to make more money so they could buy me new clothes. My closet would consist of either hand me downs, items bought second hand (cheaper), or those clothes she created from scraps. I felt unlucky. I felt unhappy.

Then I thought to myself that when I grow up, I would make sure that I would make enough money to buy whatever I want. When I have a child, I thought I'd make sure she gers whatever she wants. Anything that I didn't have before, I will make sure my child will have.

But now that I am all grown up and has a child of my own, I realized all that my mom's way is still the best way to rear a child.

I did not have fancy clothes or expensive toys. My mom did not have enough money to buy us whatever we want but she did give us everything we need. She would often go for unconventional but inexpensive methods for different things but now I know it was all for the best.

My girl classmates would talk about how shiny and soft and flowing their hair was and how good their shampoo was. I, on the other hand, get my hair treatment from my mom. She would use organic materials like gugo, calamansi, vinegar, coconut oil, egg and so much more I couldn't remember.

My girlfriends would use astringentd, creams and facial wash. My mom would use egg whites, fruit peelings, some leaves I forgot the name, or some extracts from plants I don't know, to care for our face.

My friends' parents would treat them to fast food whenever they get good grades. My mom would just cook something nice when I bring home a medal. She would go out to the backyard, pick some vegetables, and make some soup or viand out of it. Back in the day, I thought eating out at a fastfood was a reward. Now, I don't think so anymore.

I never really understood my mom's way of living back then. Our house usually smelled of smoke because she would use firewood to cook our dinner. We didn't have money to buy some decent stove and a gas tank so we would go for the more primitive way of cooking. In the city. Do you know how it feels when your neighbors would complain that it's too smokey? Or going to school smelling like a barbeque?

It felt embarassing. Now, I just feel nostalgic. I don't live with my parents anymore. I moved out when I was 21. Here in the Philippines, it's a big deal when you move out from your parentd house and while you are young and single. We are all expected to stick together even after we get married and have children of our own.

I thought differently. I felt I did not want my mom's way of living. She's too "old school" if I may say so. I felt she did not exert enough effort to give us the good life, she just stayed at home. I was one of those people who thought that stay at home moms do not do any work at all. In my defense, I was young and mindless, so please pardon me.

When I gave birth to my child, I realized that all I wanted to do in my life is to be there for my kid while she's still young. So that when she grows up, she will be strong enough to stand on her own.

It is only now that I realize that I like my mom's way. I like feeding my family organic food, I love making stuff for them like my daughter's halloween costume. I used to think that money equals effort. I thought that if I buy my kid expensive clothes, toys and food, she would feel that I love her. But now that I am growing my own urban farm and making costumes and clothes theough crochet at sewing, I realized that my mom's creations were all made out of love. Because that's what I do now.

I always thought that I'd be a career woman through and through. But now I know, I want to be like my mom. I want to live like my mom. And it is actually true that when you become a mom, your calls and text to your own mom would be more frequent. She becomes a 24/7 customer service call station amswering random questions like "Why does'nt the baby stop crying?" or "Mom, my something went wrong with my dish", or "Mom, my plant died." And I'm glad because she would answer the calls and the questions very patiently, throwing in some tips and tricks along the way.

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been selected to be included in my weekly Sustainability Curation Digest for the Minnow Support Project.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hahaha relate na relate @romskie i felt like that with my Nanay before...yon pala darating din tayo sa kstayuan niya

Posted using Partiko Android

Mom always knows the best for her children and I think that some people would do anything to raise their children in oldschool way... because in that way we knew how to survive

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 12 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 2 SBD worth and should receive 130 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Congratulations @romeskie! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 13000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 14000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hi @romeskie!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.818 which ranks you at #13174 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 159 contributions, your post is ranked at #41.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61146.27
ETH 2924.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58