Family Day Sunday

in #life5 years ago (edited)

IMG_20190519_205719.jpg

Every weekend, we make it a point to bring the little kid outside so she can roam and run freely. For this week, we brought her to the toystore. Whenever we bring her there, we always tell her we'll just be buying one toy. She can pick whatever she likes but we will just buy one toy.

At the toystore entrance, a salesman spotted us and "assisted" us. And by assisted I meant to say he followed us around, handing toys over to our daughter. And boy, does he have expensive taste! He just wants to go for a big sale, I guess. I think he was banking in the assumption that the kid would throw a tantrum if the toy wasn't bought. If this happened a few months earlier, he would have closed a sale from us with that strategy.

My daughter used to grab toys all around and would cry if I didn't buy her the toy. It worked the first time but my husband told me off when we got home. He said that if I give her that impression, that she could get whatever toy she wanted just by crying over it, each trip to the mall would be a nightmare.

So the next visits we had on the mall, we had some occasional tears of persuasion and persistence from her but she realized that when it's not "toy buying day," we will not be buying a toy at all. It's amazing how kids are able to understand those kinds of teachings.

Going back to that salesman, he was really determined. He kept handing boxes and boxes of toys to my daughter. Which she accepts and then gives it to either me or her father. She's not asking us to open it so it means she's not at all curious about it. That tactic could have worked if he gave her the right kind of toys. He gave her kiddie make up kits, clay, and dolls. When he realized he's not getting anything from us, he gave us our peace.

We headed to the cars and trucks and robots section. That was where she got excited. She ended up having to choose between a box miniature animals and trees, a truck of some sort, a guitar (she already has two guitars at home), and a remote controlled car. We bought the last one.

I'm glad we were able to establish those rules with her. One toy only and no toys when it's not scheduled. I couldn't say no to her though when she grabs a good book from the bookstore. That's because I don't think book hoarding (which I'm also guilty of) is an unhealthy habit. LOL.

Now, we just have to teach her how to use the remote. I myself will have to learn too, so good night!!!

Sort:  

wow, longread :D

Haha. Such is life. Minsan mapapahaba... Minsan mapapaiksi. Minsan mapapadaldal, minsan mapapatahimik. Haha. Share ko lang. XD

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64107.62
ETH 3101.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.12