You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Catch a Ribbon and Around We Go

in #life6 years ago

Well, there are a lot of folk that DO like what you write, and are interested, despite what you think and you know I'm one. There's a real sense of nostalgia in your writing today. I think that often comes at the change of the seasons.

I'm reading a book called Dyschronia at the moment. I haven't read far enough to really get it but I heard the radio program about it and the concept sounded so interesting - about being cut adrift in time, and the phrase 'nostalgia for the present' was floated - to me it seemed like that feeling of nostaglia for the present moment even though it hasn't passed yet - that kind of chronological confusion.

https://www.theliftedbrow.com/liftedbrow/2018/2/22/who-put-the-dys-in-dyschronia-a-book-for-the-now-generation-a-review-of-jennifer-mills-dyschronia-by-michalia-arathimos

Anyway, it's been on my mind a lot, and your post recalled it for me.

Sort:  

Wow, looks like a great read. I frequently have deja Vu, which as a kid I romanticized as past life memories. Now I look at it as my mind grasping for themes. I have a drive to categorize all sensations, so that they are in their correct place. I don't like mystery in my life, I need everything understood. A new experience must have it's place with a past one. Time, past and present, smashed together. And I think you are right, season changes do have a way of triggering that.

I like your interest in dark themes. It is a healthy thing I think, to process darkness. I don't process it well, I'm always hiding from it :)

A new experience must have it's place with a past one. Time, past and present, smashed together

I have been thinking a lot about that lately. I think its because of Dad's illness. For a year now I have been feeling like I am living inside memories, but it is the present time. So it's unsettling.

I'm not really a dark person, but you are right, I like dark themes, which is why the gothic appeals to me - a hauntedness of place, a desolation, a loneliness. And dystopian, apocalyptic landscapes also appeal to me. Maybe it is that - nothing is as it should be, and to be unsettled means you can come back again to the present moment and be comforted!! I don't know, I'm talking rubbish, there's something on the edge of my thinking there I cant quite grasp today.

I have been dealing with a lot of sad things the last couple weeks too. I'm sorry you dad isn't well.

I like your rubbish. All in due time. I get weird answers to problems in dreams. Good old subconscious working overtime.

Ah. I do meditation for that. Then just have these crazy long narrative dreams where I wonder where the HELL that came from. Like movie quality. What extraordinary things our brains are!!!

Interesting you say that. I have a good friend who has done meditation and had a very intense experience like you describe. I can't do it, I'm not receptive to my deep thoughts yet. When I'm older maybe.

You should do a post on your meditation movie dreams.

Ha no way. Too slippery and surreal.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68086.39
ETH 2626.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67