Catch a Ribbon and Around We Go

in #life6 years ago (edited)

rsz_img_20180501_222402.jpg

There are some subjects that I know will not be popular here on Steemit, but I have to write about them anyway. I think all writers have an urge to have their words read—that is half the purpose of writing. But there is the other half, which is just the call to write. So tonight, let’s write/read about the passage of time, again. It is a popular theme in my head lately, and I feel the call to write it.

Today is May Day, as we call it, or Beltane as some call it. I don’t get too immersed in religions, I think they all connect ultimately anyway. I do get immersed in nature, and in acknowledging the year as it passes. The turning of the wheel of the year seems to be a popular pagan term. I think it illustrates well how we circle back, over and over.

Last night, after deliberating with my closest friend, I announced to the kids we would be having a party today. First thing this morning my son had his cookbook out, examining what ought to be made. He was adamant about making mini pizzas with faces made out of toppings, and rice crispy “bears”. I spent the evening setting up our May Pole, made from a big oak branch brought down by a hurricane a few years ago. I screwed eyelets into it last year, and still have last year’s ribbon I scrounged up last minute. I did this while I circumventing the continual “when are we going to make the pizzas?” question.

rsz_img_20180501_222652.jpg

Pole Inspection

Oddly, spring is a season that has never been that popular with me, but I like summer. I feel at home in summer. I daydream about those lingering summer evenings, which start around 5 o’clock. The sunlight just starts to cool then, with a hint of golden color. We frequently take walks then—slow, lazy walks. The heat still sticks to us, but not with that virulent intensity of midday. The cicadas play in a never ending orchestra, each new tree passed offering up a slightly changed rhythm. May Day is a bit like the beginning of summer to us, because where we live by the time the summer solstice arrives we are well into the heat. The summer solstice feels a bit like an afterthought.

Last year we brought the neighbors old cans filled with flowers and a handwritten label announcing the holiday, because otherwise it would be missed by the recipient. Nobody celebrates May Day anymore. We like the ‘nobody’ kind of holidays.

rsz_1rsz_2017-05-01_010349.jpg

After the pole was up and I had shredded a plate full of cheese, the guests arrived. Finally, my son was able to make mini pizzas to his heart’s content. By then the house was hot and stagnant, and going out to our pole into the cool evening air was a refreshing relief. We made a half-hearted attempt at doing the correct dance around the pole to make for a pretty wrap job. The kids were placed at their designated ribbon and instructed which direction to move, but the toddler dropped her ribbon and made a run for it as soon as we began. The other kids started giggling and running willy-nilly. The pole had a good start, but then became of lovely mass of different colors and textures tangled together. We untangled, then just let them run. They got a couple more beautiful tangles in before the ribbons were dropped because dessert was remembered.

rsz_img_20180501_222637.jpg

So I cheated, they aren't bears.

I chose to filter these pictures, because there is something about a bleached photo that looks like a memory to me. I think the kids will remember these celebrations as happy snapshots, the underlying message nestled in there, only to be grasped in adulthood. May Day is the mark between spring and summer. On the spring equinox we acknowledged the change outside but also the passage of a whole quarter year of time since the winter solstice. Now we acknowledge a mini chunk of time, and what has changed since spring. We need this pause to reflect on it. If we don’t reflect, one day we will realize years have slipped away, and won’t know what happened to them.

rsz_img_20180501_222601.jpg

Blurry movements, blurry like the memory will be.

Sort:  

@headchange has featured you in the Pay It Forward contest

Photos , story and memories what a winning combination

What a sweet story ! I also love that you bleached your photos to knit with the sentiments you shared.

the underlying message nestled in there, only to be grasped in adulthood

Beautiful post.

I am loving watching you make memories. You somehow manage to catch a moment and make it timeless. Often when I read along I am transported back in time. Childhood is such a magical time. I miss those days when my daughter was young.

Thanks, glad to hear someone follows along. Periodically I start to doubt whether I should continue posting, but then I decide I want to do it regardless of whether anyone reads it, so I continue.

Thanks for commenting.

Oh don't stop! I plan to go back and read them all eventually. Pure pleasure reading for me. It gives me a familiar homey feeling from a different time in my life. I sometimes miss the days of mud pies and little grubby fingers.

Keep posting, please!

What a great memory you created for your little cuties! I always liked, and still like, the May basket tradition. My two favorite holidays are New Year's Eve and Halloween. Halloween has become overly commercialized but I like it based on the memories from my childhood and my children's childhoods. I enjoy seeing the excitement of the neighborhood little one's dressed up. I also really like Winter solstice. Reluctantly, living in the North the return of the light has special significance to me every year. I am glad you chose to keep writing!

Halloween is big in this house too. I take a month to get homemade costumes in order. Yes, I have such good memories of it as a child too. Winter Solstice also is big here--we do a feast with friends.

I love celebrations :)

This is inspiring @ginnyannete! I come to your post because you're a featured blogger in pay it forward contest this week. Ribbon is something that my family couldn't afford when I was a child, but now.. I think I can create more interesting game to remember for my family too. Thanks for sharing... Wish you and your family all the best!

Thank you @cicisaja. Somehow I missed that part it forward mention, I'll have to check it out. I save scraps of things, especially ribbon. I'm a bit of a pack rat. Those scraps do come in handy eventually. The may pole is a fun tradition, I hope your children enjoy it.

Thank you! This looks fun.

You were featured by @headchange in their entry to the Pay It Forward Contest.

Looks like a fun day for the kids.

Thanks for the info. I'm so glad :)

Happy Beltaine @ginnyannette looks
Like you had a great celebration too 😊

Thank you. Yes, a nice quiet celebration. But I have a kitchen full of dishes this morning :)

I really enjoyed this post, what a great way to celebrate beltaine with your kids, it is so important to celebrate the cycles and build upon our connection to the earth, for children they feel that naturally we just need to strengthen it and continue to show how important it is by doing lovely celebrations like this. Resteemed xx

Thanks @trucklife-family. True, I think the little ones are innately in tune with the rhythm of nature. I remember as a kid just absorbing the changes in air, and having this sense of wonder.

Thanks for your support.

Well, there are a lot of folk that DO like what you write, and are interested, despite what you think and you know I'm one. There's a real sense of nostalgia in your writing today. I think that often comes at the change of the seasons.

I'm reading a book called Dyschronia at the moment. I haven't read far enough to really get it but I heard the radio program about it and the concept sounded so interesting - about being cut adrift in time, and the phrase 'nostalgia for the present' was floated - to me it seemed like that feeling of nostaglia for the present moment even though it hasn't passed yet - that kind of chronological confusion.

https://www.theliftedbrow.com/liftedbrow/2018/2/22/who-put-the-dys-in-dyschronia-a-book-for-the-now-generation-a-review-of-jennifer-mills-dyschronia-by-michalia-arathimos

Anyway, it's been on my mind a lot, and your post recalled it for me.

Wow, looks like a great read. I frequently have deja Vu, which as a kid I romanticized as past life memories. Now I look at it as my mind grasping for themes. I have a drive to categorize all sensations, so that they are in their correct place. I don't like mystery in my life, I need everything understood. A new experience must have it's place with a past one. Time, past and present, smashed together. And I think you are right, season changes do have a way of triggering that.

I like your interest in dark themes. It is a healthy thing I think, to process darkness. I don't process it well, I'm always hiding from it :)

A new experience must have it's place with a past one. Time, past and present, smashed together

I have been thinking a lot about that lately. I think its because of Dad's illness. For a year now I have been feeling like I am living inside memories, but it is the present time. So it's unsettling.

I'm not really a dark person, but you are right, I like dark themes, which is why the gothic appeals to me - a hauntedness of place, a desolation, a loneliness. And dystopian, apocalyptic landscapes also appeal to me. Maybe it is that - nothing is as it should be, and to be unsettled means you can come back again to the present moment and be comforted!! I don't know, I'm talking rubbish, there's something on the edge of my thinking there I cant quite grasp today.

I have been dealing with a lot of sad things the last couple weeks too. I'm sorry you dad isn't well.

I like your rubbish. All in due time. I get weird answers to problems in dreams. Good old subconscious working overtime.

Ah. I do meditation for that. Then just have these crazy long narrative dreams where I wonder where the HELL that came from. Like movie quality. What extraordinary things our brains are!!!

Interesting you say that. I have a good friend who has done meditation and had a very intense experience like you describe. I can't do it, I'm not receptive to my deep thoughts yet. When I'm older maybe.

You should do a post on your meditation movie dreams.

Ha no way. Too slippery and surreal.

What an amazing piece of memory, bottled away in the blockchain, preserved for the future.

Thanks. I do like to store them up here. It is fun to read back every so often.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61110.07
ETH 2731.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45