What I Do

in #life5 years ago (edited)

What do you do?

Such a strange question.

I breathe. I eat. I parent.
I endure (sometimes appreciate) being parented, even at the age of 34.
I love.
I grieve.
I worry and I persist.
I try to rest, to replenish, to provide.
I try.
Sometimes I flourish and often I fail.

I do human things.

But that’s not what that question is asking, is it? And even though there’s a sometimes-implied and sometimes-explicit reference to work, it isn’t really even about that. I think “what do you do” is usually taken to mean “what do you contribute that sets you apart from other humans in a way that can be monetized?”
But you definitely sound weird if you ask it that way.

What I do for work is raise my kids. That’s the focal point of every decision and every resource spent and acquired. Of course, I don’t get any money for it, and it only barely sets me apart from other humans. It is a massive contribution, though, and it requires tremendous time, energy and skill.

I get money from carving shells. So there it is; what I do: I carve seashells.

I’m a shell-carver; nothing more and nothing less.

9D4E32B4-DAA7-4D8E-A385-9856337A23F1.jpeg

Sort:  

Wow that's amazing. ❤

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey there :)
I have made an analysis of the new Steemians in June 2019 and you have been chosen for a beginners reward.

A small welcoming gift:

  • 4 SBI units,
  • 30 SP delegation for a month,
  • 1 STEEM,
  • a vote from me for a month

More about the process in this post

https://steemit.com/utopian-io/@dalz/searching-for-new-steemians---june-2019--activities-balance-analysis-and-a-small-gift-from-me

Have an nice day and I hope you grow here fast :)

Thank you! I have no real idea of what this means, but I’m getting there!

Congratulations @ripirate! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 10 comments. Your next target is to reach 50 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66121.65
ETH 3564.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.14