Tales From The Crypt XV: The Animal Shelter

in #life7 years ago

03.jpg
Google Images: Russian Prison Tattoo

[One more then I can take tomorrow off and do a little curating (and laundry)]

Last time around I got to vent my spleen against one group of people I particularly don't like- The Rich... So I might get it out of my system and vent it against some people that I absolutely detest... Animal Abusers!

One particular type of animal abuser I really hate is the one that takes a pet somewhere and drops them off to fend for themselves... For some reason they found my cemeteries a very convenient drop-off spot- especially at night when no one was there. I'd get to work and find unwanted dogs and cats waiting... usually hungry and afraid.

The pound here in Ft. Smith does the best job it can trying to keep them, but after a certain period of time if nobody takes them, they're "put to sleep" (I hate that term- they kill them)- something I find unacceptable... So we branched out into the animal rescue business. We had three cemeteries- two in the same location. When people left dogs or cats in one, we would take them in and keep them where we had the most room at the time.

Paul (my asst.) and I were managers and made more than the other guys so we'd chip in more- but everybody did their part- and we made sure there was plenty of food and that they were up to date on their shots. Then we cleaned them up and found them homes... It was really easier than you'd think.

All the guys that worked there had 2 or 3 dogs. When people came there to find a grave or something, we always made sure they got a look at whatever dog or cat we were looking to place- it worked like charm... Honestly, at times though, I didn't know if I was running a marble orchard or an animal shelter! There were very cool dogs too... One day I was driving to Holy Cross when I found a Pit Bull (for some reason people discarded them a lot) down by the duck pond. He was one of the biggest dogs I ever saw- at least as big as a St. Bernard- he must have weighed 150 lbs... tan with a black snout. This guy was coming home with me!

I jumped out of my car and he came right to me, wagging his tail- just as friendly as can be. I loaded him into the car and headed to the house. When I got there my wife came out with Angus, our Sheltie. The dog Malcolm (Yup, I'm an AC/DC fan) and I were on our way to the gate when my wife saw him... Well, that was that! "Put that thing back in the car and get him out of here!" She says.

"But look at how friendly he is," I tell her. He and Angus were already making friends through the gate.

"I don't care how friendly he is- that thing isn't coming in that gate," she said and I could tell by her voice- he wasn't coming inside the gate.

"But he'll keep you safe while I'm at work," I say.

It didn't matter what I tried... Malcolm wasn't going to get to stay. One of the guys at Forest Park saw him and fell in love (it was hard not to)... he already had 5 dogs so one more wouldn't matter. He was really sweet and got along fine with people and other dogs. But, I really would have liked to keep him.

You know, if I might end by digressing, I hear all the time about man's inhumanity to his fellow man- but man's inhumanity to our furry brethren troubles me a lot more for some reason... perhaps because they depend on us so much. There was a rent house behind mine- a place frequently rented to people who would move out after a few months leaving a dog behind... Usually a Pit Bull- this is one...
545111_3497924006019_2112175695_n.jpg (Isn't she a beauty?)
I would, naturally, have to take care of them. Furthermore, it's always people who go to great lengths to make them mean... either for fighting, or protection, or whatever. So, first I would have to undo the damage. For example, the little lady in the picture was hiding in a hole under a piece of plywood starved half to death. She was chained, but she came at me like a shot... I brought bowls of food and water and had to push them to her with a rake. It took 3 days before she'd take a treat from my hand and let me pet her. This was true of all 3 or 4 of the Pitties I rescued from there. Then I'd find them a good forever home- somewhere I was sure they wouldn't be mistreated.

In fact, that's how I got my Bruno- my baby...
Bruny.jpg
Some drunks had him and they would get drunk and torture him. They lived next door to one of my guys that worked for me. I knocked on their door with my Sig .45 in my waistband, after seeing them spraying him in the face with a high-pressure hose and laughing about it. I informed them that I was taking the dog or they wouldn't enjoy what would happen next... That's another perk of running cemeteries- but we won't talk about that.

GIF by @papa-pepper

U5dsRT1UAnwwU1RVKAb43TK21U3xTen.gif

Sort:  

Dogs are special, useful, human-like, and must be cared for and loved.

If I had my pick of being around dogs or people... I'll take dogs any day!

I can not bare animal abusers. The same should happen to them the rotten ***** you're a very lovely person! What a refreshing post

I just try to do the right thing, but thank you!

I hate animal abusers with a passion.

You and me both... just between us, I'd have used my .45 on those idiots where I got my dog!

Too bad most of em end up not in jail.

Another fantastically penned piece here thank you friend

Thank you my friend!

Well done, as you say, animals are what their owners make them.

I get into arguments all the time about that... No breed has any genetic predisposition for violent behavior! They're made that way.

Dear friend, you have a very big heart! Sometimes humanity seems to be lost, but people as you make me think that not all humanity is lost! Bruno is very sweet. Who loves and respect defenceless creatures have all my respect! Animal abusers are really part of the dregs of humanity .

All I did was the right thing... It's what anybody should have done. When doing the right thing becomes a unusual thing... we're in big trouble!!!

I take a very simple view of Christianity... Read Matthew 6: 1- (until the Lord's Prayer) It will tell you all you need to know- that and Love your neighbor & the Golden Rule... That's all you need!

hola @ richq11, muy interesante tu post, los animales deben de ser tratados dignamente y por eso tenemos que cambiar la manera de pensar de nuestra soiedad y ser responsables con ellos...

Te felicito, muy buen post :)

Gracias Amigo!

You're living a full life with a lot of good in it!

I have a friend with a pit-cross rescue. The only thing she knows about the dogs's previous life is that the former owner is in prison.

What a sweet animal - with people. She sees other dogs or animals, though, and she goes ballistic. My friend hired someone to walk her once, and the idiot let her off the leash. She ended up nearly eating the neighbor's dog, and my friend had to pay $3000 for surgeries. Kind of strained her relationship with the neighbors, too.

This dog is so strong that she bent the bars of an "indestructible" Kong cage--so that she could curl up and nap on the couch. And you can't say the word "Kill" around her or she'll break a window trying to get outside. Otherwise, she's an angel.

I love walking that dog, but it's a task that requires two hands on a stout leather leash, and full attention.

For the life of me, I can't imagine why anyone would do that to a dog. Dogs are naturally protective of the ones they love. There's no need to make them mean. They can also, as you pointed out, be incredibly strong. My father in law had a Bernese Mountain dog mix and that thing was like an ox. He had to keep getting stouter chains... finally he got a log chain. It was attached to a doghouse that probably weighed 250 lbs. On my way over there I found that dog about 3/4 of a mile from the house (with his house still attached)

That's hilarious! They should put it to work plowing a field.

Our theory was that this dog was part of a dog-fighting ring. It's a shame because we have to leave our Chihuahua home when we go to visit.

Isn't she a sweetie?

DaeshaBall.jpg

What a cutie! My friend had a Chihuahua named Maximillian... He had a pitbull complex. One night I spent the night and woke up on the edge of the bed. I still can't figure how a dog that small managed to take up the whole bed!

Don't tell a chihuahua he can't do something. He'll find a way to prove you wrong.

MontyDriving.jpg

You know I was never a big fan of small dogs until I met Max... He's little but it just never occurred to him (Like me)

Animal abusers are sick people makes me mad just thinking of poor Bruno and the many many others out there @richq11 well I will continue to do what I can to help.

i hate these animal abusers at least bloody think if you were in place of these animals.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59568.13
ETH 2951.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55