After the Fire

in #life4 years ago

Yesterday morning, I took the dogs for a walk on the beach as usual. We were by the sea around nine a.m., happily enjoying the blustery November morning in Eastbourne, when the first sirens ripped the quiet.

As I watched from the Promenade near Marine Parade, all manner of first responders emerged from deep within the town, heading in the direction of the pier. Police. Fire trucks. Ambulances. Other emergency vehicles. I had no idea what was happening, but when uniformed people wearing grim expressions began setting up roadblocks and diverting traffic, I knew it was big.

I returned to my flat, thinking in terms of traffic accidents and the pedestrian who’d been struck and injured the day before near Lottbridge Drove. I didn’t look out my window so I didn’t see the huge columns of black smoke rising into the air above the seafront. I continued to hear sirens and noticed that the dogs seemed uneasy, so I went online to see what I could learn. And learn I did. The historic Claremont Hotel, only a couple of blocks from where I sat, was burning to the ground.

I didn’t take any photos of the Claremont while it was ablaze. I couldn’t bring myself to walk out there and see this Grade II Listed structure vanish from existence before my eyes. It was built circa 1851, stood strong and proud for more than 150 years, and was reduced to rubble in the space of a few hours. So for this post I’m doing something a bit taboo: I’m using photos of the fire that don’t belong to me, but as a peace offering, I’m also turning them into links that lead directly to the news stories where they originally appear. Some of them are hidden in image carousels on the article, but the references are correct. All credit to the authors of the articles and photographers are found at those linked news stories.

I want you to click those links. I want people to read about this. I want you to hear about the great tragedy that Eastbourne suffered yesterday, November 22, 2019. I want the world to know about all the people who lost precious belongings in that fire, who escaped to the beachfront with nothing but the clothes on their backs, the employees who now have no jobs to go to, the owners who were devastated by this loss. I also want people to see the great efficiency of fire and rescue teams who ensured that no one lost their lives or suffered grave injury, that all persons known to be inside the hotel at the time the blaze broke out have been accounted for, that no firefighters or rescue personnel were injured or killed, and that the town of Eastbourne has extended not only condolences but tangible assistance to all displaced by this fire. I want everyone to take note of the specific reference here to the safety and shelter of pets affected by this fire and how not only are provisions being made for them, but news agencies are faithful to report about it. (See The Argus article linked above.) There’s a great story of the human heart here, and it bears telling.

Without a doubt, it’s hard for me to explain the deep connection I feel to Eastbourne. Did I live here in a past life? Is there some sort of genetic memory at work that has imprinted this area on my soul? I don’t know. What’s apparent, though, is that events like the fire that destroyed the Claremont Hotel affect me. So much history, just gone. I can’t even imagine the antiques and artifacts in that building--not to mention the building itself--forever lost. But they are. That whole stretch of seafront is changed forever, because even if the structure is rebuilt to exact scale, it will only be a replica.

Life in Eastbourne goes on. People are already back on the Promenade, walking dogs, pushing kids in strollers--enjoying life here, making the best of wintry weather. It’s good to see. For the people and families directly impacted by the fire, it will surely be a tough Christmas. Those flames won’t fade any time soon from the memories of anyone who saw them. But I do look forward to seeing the positives that emerge from this. I’ll be able to share my own photos of the progress made by demolition crews and later, construction crews. Let’s see what Eastbourne rebuilds from the ashes of this tragedy.

Sort:  

That is so tragic, I do hope that effected families recover soon.

This post has been appreciated and featured in daily quality content rewards.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87