The Manly Art OF Knitting

in #life7 years ago


I am a knitter. It doesn’t sound like a very masculine hobby – but I am in company with some fantastic men like William Shakespeare, George Lucas, Kurt Cobain (Crochet), Ryan Gosling Russel Crowe and David Arquette (the last one’s not too hard to picture) .


Most people think of old women with pencils and notebooks, stacks of yarn all over the place. Through sites like Pinterest we have learned of people in every walk of life who knit loud and proud.


My mother never taught me how to do it (she’s been asking me to show her) – but she did introduce me to sewing. Most boys would probably rather play with video game or something more stimulating – but I was the type of kid who liked to build things and take them apart – I was interested in EVERYTHING.


The first sewing I ever did was with a kit my Mom bought me. It was a piece of fabric with a pattern on it in different colors – the lines on the picture let you know what type of stich to do. I finished one of these pictures – the skills I learned have been useful in life. I can do things like repair holes or hem a pair of pants.


My sewing ability was an advantage. I also learned how to tie a bunch of different knots as a kid which helped with some concepts like “casting on”. For me – knitting feels natural. My fingers hurt afterwards –but other than that there is something very human about it.

I learned it reluctantly. There were a few older women who taught me how to do basic knitting (Much like in the case of Ryan Gosling). The first time – it was forced on me – I took over for a woman who was going out for a smoke. When she got back – she “cast on” for me and got me started. Since then I have spent hundreds of hours doing it. It’s a great distraction from the winter!

I don’t like to meditate – the idea of spending an hour a day trying to block out everything seems appealing - but near impossible for me. Knitting helps with this. I don’t make people sweaters – I knit as a therapy. It’s one of those activities like playing a musical instrument– where you can shut off your mind and just exist.


When you are doing a project – such as a teddy bear – you are spending most of your time counting the number or loops in a row and the number of lines in the pieces. This type of work is still meditative, but less so. The more elaborate the project – the more concentration it will require. I find knitting squares and then attaching the squares together allows me to be alone with my thoughts.



There are a few different styles of Knitting – they all involve a process called “casting on” and “casting off” – these parts require some thought at first but eventually will be part of the routine. As you knit the yarn moves from one needle to the other and back over in whatever rhythm you operate at.


The internet has taught me many things about knitting. I just recently learned how to to a “Herringbone Stitch” which looks really nice.


I was going to put together a tutorial on how to do basic knitting – but there is already one that I think is excellent. Click on the link below for step by step instructions – complete with short videos – that should get you going right away. In my experience – by about the third time you knit – you can call yourself a knitter!

How To Knit

Sort:  

A few years back I saw a documentary on tv about a old male who made the most amazing sweaters and scarfs I have ever seen. He also made very wrong Christmas sweaters and I sadly can't recall his name. I might google it.
Anyways, I think everything we can do here on earth can be done by both sexes!

You see lots of men in the third world in textiles.. Nobody is beyond a loom or a spinning wheel if it can put food on the table! Some of the work these guys do without computers or sophisticated planning is amazing.

you left out Jacques Plante, Montreal Canadiens hockey goalie. Now that guy was a manly knitter, and he tended goal for a while with no face mask and little body protection...yeah, very manly indeed :)

Didnt he invent the Goalie mask? That was probably where his interest in textiles came from...

That and frozen rubber pucks to the face..

I personally could not knit my way out of a paper bag... but I loved the life-lessons and philosophical perspective!

I added your piece to the #philosophy-review for today: https://steemit.com/philosophy/@aaanderson/the-philosophy-review-nov-27-2016

You may want to try "finger knitting" http://www.wikihow.com/Finger-Knit

If I didn't have the time to learn it I probably would have given up - knitting with needles is hard in the sense that you have to put in a lot of hours in up front. It is also fairly expensive for yarn. I thought I would be able to make a sweater for less than the store - in reality you are probably looking at something much more expensive not including your time! Sometimes its good to have a labor of love!

it's great to have a manly knitter here on steemit, now we just need some manly crocheters to :D

Men should crochet more.. its cheaper, easier and you can make items easily. Lots of famous men are in that category as well. Maybe we can all do a swatch and make @ned or @dan a Steem technicolor dream-coat ;)

I couldn't agree more. I love Frank O'Randle's "of change" designs they are stunning.

omg I love your pictures you added! those are fantastically funny...Learning a skill and a craft and creating something is a wonderful feeling....Thanks for your inspiration and sharing!! have a fantastic DAY!! ps I wanna see what you create as well!!

Very nice! :) Thanks for sharing!

I don't know if knitting and needlepoint are the same thing or not, but when I was growing up, every time I would say, "that's for girls." about anything at all, my dad would respond by telling me that Rosey Grier does needlepoint. His obvious point being that no activity is reserved exclusively for one sex or the other.

Certainly not when it comes to the Arts!

Nothing wrong with a useful hobby like this as long as it produces clothing!

It's also one of the quietest hobby's one can have ;)

Great article!! FYI the link to HOW TO KNIT isn't working. I'd love to see it. :)

Works for me?

It's working now, thanks.

Interesting. Never seen a man Knit in my life but whatever takes your fancy

I don't think I've ever seen another man knit in public either - but you cant fault a guy for wanting some peace :) Thats why I thought I would write about it. There is a charity that takes square patches and uses them to make things for poor people - http://www.knit-a-square.com/ . I knit squares all winter long. I'm sure it was the meditative effect that attracted some of the famous men I mentioned - I find it almost impossible to do anything but "be present" when I am knitting squares.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97