You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What is Evil? (Bloody Fields)

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I don't think I've got a rant in me today. I can't comment authoritatively about the dynamic there (I don't even know where "there" is). But I suspect that a lot of this sort of abuse is driven by the developed world's demand for ever cheaper and cheaper stuff.

But it really is wrong at so many levels that the people who grow our food (over there and here in our own western countries), can barely afford to feed themselves. At least in Australia, I happen to think that the plight of farmers is probably the biggest (behind homelessness) indicator of how fucked up neoliberalism is. Particularly Australia, as agriculture has been responsible for so much of our wealth in our earlier history. And the really ironic thing here is that the country "farmers" party (The Nationals) does pretty much fuck all for farmers, as they have been in a formal coalition with the neoliberal Liberal Party for decades, a party that actively decimates rural communities in favour of get rich quick financial industry and property speculation in the big cities. To complete the irony, it's actually the Greens who are the party that supports rural Australia and farmers the most, yet farmers can't bring themselves to vote for the greens because they are more worried about Jesus, and gays and lesbians taking over the world, than they are their own and the nation's wellbeing. But that's conservatives for you. There's only so much you can do for such people.

Ok, that turned into a mini-rant. Baby steps... :)

Sort:  

I will go out and get some fresh air and eat. So I can respond with a clear head lol. I am so angry today. Ok. I will get back to your comment.

I suffer badly from depression, so I have to regulate how much emotion I can give to things that make me angry. It's kind of why I had to give away most of my political ranting. It was destroying me. The idea for me here at steemit is to try and promote justice without burning myself out with anger. But sometimes there's only so many times you can say something calmly while nothing ever changes. Sometimes a rant is required.. ;)

I'm sure there are farmers' party problems everywhere. The conservatives' anti-gay and lesbian problems would be the least of the farmers' concern (although religion is still a great enemy) around here. The military men and police killing landless farmers and party leaders is the great issue.

I should probably schedule my rants and not make responding to comments as my breakfast. I should probably stick to blogging about cats and how beautiful nature is, but a part of me still go back to ranting lol. Especially if I am surrounded with brainwashed people, I can't live with these bottled up feelings.

Yeah, I hear ya. I'm always torn between tearing someone a new arsehole, and just letting something go and looking after my mental health. As I say to people now - I'm no longer at the forefront pushing for a revolution, but as soon as one kicks off I'm going to be there with bells on.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60626.97
ETH 3358.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45