You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: REJECTIONS - BEST PERSONAL TRAINING EVER.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Great read! Funny that I had just thought by myself, that I'd like to know a little bit of your life's story and how you got into your job. Hehe.. not only must the gods be crazy, they always smile upon me too :-)

Of course I hate rejection and as a Bavarian I know how to swear extensively, when it happens to me.

Had to smile, when I read about your determination, and I know I'm the same way, when something is really important to me. Its as if I don't even think about it, it all happens more like on autopilot...

Back in 2015 I organized a huge exhibition with 70 professional female artists from around the world. There were a few big names of women working in my genre on my list and of course they weren't really knocking down my door, to exhibit in a small town in the Bavarian Forest. To make a long story short, we pulled it off in the end.... when I didn't get a reply to an invitation, or someone turned the offer down, I tried again and looked for ways to make it more appealing to them. Some of the Ladies must have gotten half a dozen invitations or more. It was funny, when I finally got a positive answer from one of the really famous artists starting with the words: "Thank you for your friendly persistence"... (she accepted)

I think, persistence, determination and passion take you a long way. Your story proves that nicely again :-)


I think this post deserves a lot more rewards than I can add with my humble upvote... found a way, to "fuzzy" it up a little ;-)

Sort:  

What a generous gesture, Reinhard!!!!

It was you with the fuzzyvest! :-)

THANK YOU SO MUCH.

You really also know how to sweeten ones day! It reminds me on our first encounter. Smile. And smile again.

"70 professional female artists": sounds like paradise.

I tried again and looked for ways to make it more appealing to them

Great example, thank you. I think that is another nice secret in handling rejection or ignorance: Make it more appealing. Instead of reacting hurt or aggravated it's good to find out what exactly there is what makes another one wanting to engage. People have their spots and mostly if you have a sense of what it probably can be, it goes very well. When the intention behind is truly positive it's almost always a win. Exceptions confirm the rule.

I think, persistence, determination and passion take you a long way.

Agree.


I had to upvote my comment in order to place it directly under yours. :)

Erika, I see you are always generous, so its easy for me to share a little something with you! @officialfuzzy was very generous the other day with me, and I thought this is a good opportunity to give back a little and show my gratitude.

I don't know, what your idea of paradise is, but I can assure you, that organizing such a project is not. Although I have to say, that I met some really outstanding artists and wonderful human beings with that show. It definitely was a great experience 🙂

Did I mention, your picture is on the way?

I am practicing :) Sometimes it stresses my capacity and I cannot catch up with giving votes & comments.

I tried to understand @officialfuzzy but I am afraid it is too late in the evening. Will read it again tomorrow.

HeHe, I was actually thinking to put a smiley to the paradise statement but decided against in order to see whether you will get my slightly ironic intention. I did organize similar events and I can tell the effort:) very intense.

The picture! Yes, I am happily awaiting it and I am very much exited! This is actually the first picture I am purchasing directly from an artist! That makes it special to me.

Just check out his blog and discord channel and you'll get the idea :-)

Hey, of course I got it, my little soul sister 🤭 But it did inspire me to today's post. What events did you organize?

First for both of us, my first one sold for crypto! The fact, that it will be in your home, makes it special to me 🤩

I'll keep that in mind... great way to respond to someone... "thank you for your friendly persistence"... Believing in one's own strength, and daring to shape that the way that is authentic, takes a lot of courage and persistence. Great autopilot to have!

Haha, yes, I thought it was nice, when she called my "nagging" friendly persistence.. but like I said, I didn't even do it consciously. Just had my goal in mind and the rest just happened. Its like raising a glass of water to your mouth... you don't have to think of which muscle to use or which joint to bend, you just do it...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60007.10
ETH 2415.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41